Search found 99 matches

Go to advanced search

by Dark Hope
Sep 15 2017 01:17
Forum: Cadre Building
Topic: Where to go after start collecting box?
Replies: 8
Views: 518

Re: Where to go after start collecting box?

Start collecting boxes are the best. I have 4. You'll want a pathfinder team box for the Devilfish and pathfinders. The Devilfish works great with the breachers. The second start collecting will also give you a good pool of drones to work with protecting your other models.
by Dark Hope
Sep 08 2017 11:58
Forum: Modelling
Topic: The Burninator
Replies: 2
Views: 395

Re: The Burninator

Lol, I just did the exact same thing last month.

Commander Torchstars Elite Flamer Unit https://imgur.com/gallery/nTuT1
by Dark Hope
Aug 23 2017 02:18
Forum: Rules & FAQ
Topic: Savior Protocols and multiple mortal wound attacks
Replies: 34
Views: 1563

Re: Savior Protocols and multiple mortal wound attacks

1) What local store manager say is irrelevant. 2) There are other instances where rules only say "wounds" and it works for mortal wounds too (ie. some feel no pains...) Otherwise, I can't find anything particularly wrong with that interpretation... Stimulant injector specifies "wound...
by Dark Hope
Aug 23 2017 01:49
Forum: Rules & FAQ
Topic: Savior Protocols and multiple mortal wound attacks
Replies: 34
Views: 1563

Re: Savior Protocols and multiple mortal wound attacks

Ok, so I asked my local GW store manager and he says they can't intercept mortal wounds at all, as mortal wounds are a separate mechanic from normal wounds. The savior protocols doesn't say wounds or mortal wounds.
by Dark Hope
Aug 23 2017 12:34
Forum: Rules & FAQ
Topic: Savior Protocols and multiple mortal wound attacks
Replies: 34
Views: 1563

Re: Savior Protocols and multiple mortal wound attacks

I think the key here is the wording. Say the phrase "target suffers 3 mortal wounds" without the word mortal. Combine that with the fact they clarify "each mortal wound deals one damage," and it should be obvious that each mortal wound is it's own wound.
by Dark Hope
Aug 23 2017 12:48
Forum: Rules & FAQ
Topic: Savior Protocols and multiple mortal wound attacks
Replies: 34
Views: 1563

Re: Savior Protocols and multiple mortal wound attacks

The weapon profile would read like: S AP D Abilities 5 -2 D6 This weapon deals D6 damage, on a damage roll of 3+ it does 3 mortal wounds in addition to the damage. Because of savior protocol a drone would intercept this and take a single mortal wound because there is no damage roll when using savio...
by Dark Hope
Aug 22 2017 07:56
Forum: Rules & FAQ
Topic: Savior Protocols and multiple mortal wound attacks
Replies: 34
Views: 1563

Re: Savior Protocols and multiple mortal wound attacks

From my understanding, since Mortal Wounds happen one at a time, you have to allocate each single mortal wound to a drone. If it is a Shield Drone, you would then take the 5+. If passed, you can then allocate another wound to it. If it fails, the model is no longer there to have the wound allocated...
by Dark Hope
Aug 22 2017 04:02
Forum: Rules & FAQ
Topic: Savior Protocols and multiple mortal wound attacks
Replies: 34
Views: 1563

Savior Protocols and multiple mortal wound attacks

The question is; can attacks that do 1d6 (for example) mortal wounds be intercepted by a single drone and turned into just a single mortal wound? Personally I think I remember it saying somewhere that mortal wounds are always treated as separate instances of damage, but I can't seem to find it anywh...
by Dark Hope
Aug 10 2017 06:53
Forum: Rules & FAQ
Topic: Photon Grenades -- What's the Point?
Replies: 23
Views: 1743

Re: Photon Grenades -- What's the Point?

Hitting with even one before charging makes their 6s become 5s, they can't hit you. Perfect for charging a big nasty heavy gun model without having to worry about a d6 shot (or more) landing in overwatch. Overwatch is resolved at BS 6+ regardless of modifiers Oh you're right, I forgot that regardle...
by Dark Hope
Aug 09 2017 10:18
Forum: Tau Tactics
Topic: Dark Hopes 8th edition guide to competitive battle strategy
Replies: 27
Views: 5483

Re: Dark Hopes 8th edition guide to competitive battle strategy

No thoughts on Aun'Shi? And would it be possible to have some illustrated examples of your style of play? Even some pictures form Vassal would help. I love the crap out of Aun'Shi. He's the only ethereal I actually like in the fluff. His model though unfortunately is just a more expensive ethereal ...
by Dark Hope
Aug 09 2017 09:36
Forum: Rules & FAQ
Topic: Photon Grenades -- What's the Point?
Replies: 23
Views: 1743

Re: Photon Grenades -- What's the Point?

Hitting with even one before charging makes their 6s become 5s, they can't hit you. Perfect for charging a big nasty heavy gun model without having to worry about a d6 shot (or more) landing in overwatch.
by Dark Hope
Aug 09 2017 09:32
Forum: General Discussion
Topic: Chapter Approved snippets - Matched Play changes!
Replies: 24
Views: 2570

Re: Chapter Approved snippets - Matched Play changes!

This makes Breacher teams on Devilfish even better, overall I'm happy with the changes.
by Dark Hope
Aug 05 2017 01:03
Forum: Tau Tactics
Topic: Dark Hopes 8th edition guide to competitive battle strategy
Replies: 27
Views: 5483

Re: Dark Hopes 8th edition guide to competitive battle strategy

Minor updates and edits from recent faq. plans to add a tips and tricks section soon...ish. Busy nuking imperial bases in fate of Konor and making a crisis flamer unit.
by Dark Hope
Aug 05 2017 12:36
Forum: Tau Tactics
Topic: Review of Units for Competitive List
Replies: 20
Views: 2153

Re: Review of Units for Competitive List

You can protect longstrike with crisis bodyguards. Stick some missile pods and sit at range, or flamers and protect from charges, depending on what you think you're going up against.
by Dark Hope
Aug 03 2017 07:11
Forum: Rules & FAQ
Topic: Charging, faq, errata, and command point reroll conflict.
Replies: 13
Views: 1051

Re: Charging, faq, errata, and command point reroll conflict.

thesnailmaster wrote:The Strat says "You may reroll any SINGLE dice" so the FAQ has nothing to do with it, that ability is more for things like the ork special rule "ere we go"


Rerolling a single dice in a set that gets added together is exactly what the errata is talking about though...
by Dark Hope
Aug 03 2017 03:34
Forum: Rules & FAQ
Topic: Charging, faq, errata, and command point reroll conflict.
Replies: 13
Views: 1051

Re: Charging, faq, errata, and command point reroll conflict.

"Some rules allow you to reroll a dice roll, which means you get to reroll some or all of the dice again."

Seems to me that's exactly what the errata is talking about, rerolling a dice roll. The CP ability is exactly that, rerolling a dice roll.
by Dark Hope
Aug 03 2017 12:16
Forum: Rules & FAQ
Topic: Charging, faq, errata, and command point reroll conflict.
Replies: 13
Views: 1051

Re: Charging, faq, errata, and command point reroll conflict.

Quartz wrote:I guess this also applies to the pseudo melta rule on our fusion blasters and many other weapons, where you roll two dice and pick the highest - would you only reroll one with the CP or would you reroll both?


You would reroll one, because you don't add those two dice together.
by Dark Hope
Aug 03 2017 03:19
Forum: Rules & FAQ
Topic: Charging, faq, errata, and command point reroll conflict.
Replies: 13
Views: 1051

Charging, faq, errata, and command point reroll conflict.

Ok so... this is confusing as hell. I'm going to list these one at a time first, then explain the problem. 1: charging, roll 2d6 and add them together to get result 2: the faq/errata says "some rules allow you to reroll a dice roll, which means you get to roll some or all of the dice again. If ...

Go to advanced search