Search found 385 matches

Go to advanced search

by Gragagrogog
Nov 07 2017 06:46
Forum: Tau Tactics
Topic: XV109 Y'vahra (any feedback?)
Replies: 65
Views: 4088

Re: XV109 Y'vahra (any feedback?)

OFF-TOPIC: Why do people refer to the Y'vahra as a 'she'? This varies by language, some languages assign a sex to every noun(note that most also have neutral category) regardless of if it could or could not actually reproduce sexually(ie. in czech, a chair is a "she"), and ending with an ...
by Gragagrogog
Oct 30 2017 11:54
Forum: Rules & FAQ
Topic: Can EWO stop drop pods???
Replies: 36
Views: 829

Re: Can EWO stop drop pods???

Drop pod has one ability, the act of it literally coming in from reserves. The act of the contents disembarking is not a deep strike maneuver and EWO doesn't trigger on disembarks in general. I think that would be defensible if it weren't for the 9" away condition AND the ability forcing the d...
by Gragagrogog
Oct 30 2017 08:22
Forum: Rules & FAQ
Topic: Can EWO stop drop pods???
Replies: 36
Views: 829

Re: Can EWO stop drop pods???

Arka0415 wrote:I thought it was already decided that disembarkation was an ability. I guess not. Discuss on!


It is when you disembark from drop pod on the turn it arrived(which you couldn't using just normal transport rules), otherwise it's not.
by Gragagrogog
Oct 30 2017 06:55
Forum: Rules & FAQ
Topic: Can EWO stop drop pods???
Replies: 36
Views: 829

Re: Can EWO stop drop pods???

The better thing is that EWO, as far as I see, can also shoot to units that disembarks transports. Let's say a Tactical squad disembarks from a Rhino. The Tactical squad is being SET-UPed, so a unit with EWO can shoot at them. That's actually really great, especially for heavy infantry armies like ...
by Gragagrogog
Oct 30 2017 04:07
Forum: Rules & FAQ
Topic: Can EWO stop drop pods???
Replies: 36
Views: 829

Re: Can EWO stop drop pods???

I think the fact that unit(s) embarked in the pod couldn't disembark in the turn the pod drops if the drop pod rule didn't say so pretty much settles this...

Also, any significant FAQ additions probably won't come until all codexes are released.
by Gragagrogog
Oct 17 2017 06:45
Forum: General Discussion
Topic: Off topic section? Suggestion
Replies: 13
Views: 460

Re: Off topic section? Suggestion

I wouldn't mind it, if you could easily filter it from the portal page...
by Gragagrogog
Oct 07 2017 09:08
Forum: Rules & FAQ
Topic: Rerolls and modifiers
Replies: 81
Views: 2653

Re: Rerolls and modifiers

I do now see your issue, I thought you still didn't understand how it worked not that you just want step by step clarification for those who are unable to conclude that 2+2 is infact 4 :D If you want to use math analogies, it's more of a 1/3*9 problem, yes I really want a step by step clarification...
by Gragagrogog
Oct 05 2017 08:29
Forum: Rules & FAQ
Topic: Rerolls and modifiers
Replies: 81
Views: 2653

Re: Rerolls and modifiers

fraction64 wrote:It would also impact gets hot and similar "rules" radically.
In the end it's a minor thing that rarely comes up and saves a lot of headaches with other rules.


Modifiers do impact gets hot and i.e. railgun 6+ roll(Longstrike).
by Gragagrogog
Oct 05 2017 04:53
Forum: Rules & FAQ
Topic: Rerolls and modifiers
Replies: 81
Views: 2653

Re: Rerolls and modifiers

So what you are actually saying is you don't play by the rules you interpret them to suit you rationale? This is the moment your brain triggered cognitive dissonance, you're hallucinating from that point onward about what I said. And even though they only showed how it works for 1's the same theory...
by Gragagrogog
Oct 04 2017 03:02
Forum: Rules & FAQ
Topic: Rerolls and modifiers
Replies: 81
Views: 2653

Re: Rerolls and modifiers

So what exactly is your issue and where is there any evidence that it exists? I'll try to explain this to you. There is a mind-boggling difference in how 2 groups of people read the same sentence. You belong in one group which reads "reroll failed to hit rolls, rerolls "happen" befor...
by Gragagrogog
Oct 01 2017 09:08
Forum: Rules & FAQ
Topic: Have you been Overcharging your CIBs correctly?
Replies: 30
Views: 1556

Re: Have you been Overcharging your CIBs correctly?

No, rolling 6 dice doesn't give you 100% chance of rolling one or more 1s.

I would point you to https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Binomial_theorem but this isn't exactly the easiest material to learn from, some combinatorics course might be better...
by Gragagrogog
Oct 01 2017 08:37
Forum: Rules & FAQ
Topic: Have you been Overcharging your CIBs correctly?
Replies: 30
Views: 1556

Re: Have you been Overcharging your CIBs correctly?

Glarblar wrote:Chance of Mortal wound for overcharged CIB 0ML->1ML
1 shot: 1/6 => 1/36
2 shot: 1/3 => 1/18
3 shot: 1/2 => 1/12


The chances don't stack like that for 2 and 3 shots... I did the math here: viewtopic.php?f=44&t=25823&p=326348#p326348
by Gragagrogog
Oct 01 2017 04:45
Forum: Rules & FAQ
Topic: Rerolls and modifiers
Replies: 81
Views: 2653

Re: Rerolls and modifiers

AFAIK, no rule forces you to reroll anything, if you know the 3 will be a success, just leave it. Whether you CAN reroll it or not is another question.

So, b)
by Gragagrogog
Oct 01 2017 04:12
Forum: Rules & FAQ
Topic: Rule question regarding Shadowsun's drones.
Replies: 23
Views: 967

Re: Rule question regarding Shadowsun's drones.

Hmm, I wonder if this would be more clear if we'd invent language after the concept of zero.
by Gragagrogog
Sep 30 2017 11:23
Forum: Rules & FAQ
Topic: Have you been Overcharging your CIBs correctly?
Replies: 30
Views: 1556

Re: Have you been Overcharging your CIBs correctly?

Lostroninsoul wrote:Other questionable CIB reaction we may run into. Does that mortal damage drip onto other models if a xv8 model is slain before all Mortal wounds is resolved?


I fail to see how this would ever happen, unless you use fast rolling here which you really shouldn't.
by Gragagrogog
Sep 30 2017 10:53
Forum: Rules & FAQ
Topic: Have you been Overcharging your CIBs correctly?
Replies: 30
Views: 1556

Re: Have you been Overcharging your CIBs correctly?

^ Having multiple wounded models is somewhat undefined situation, you can't pick "that one wounded model" if there's more of them. I'd say just choose any one of the wounded models you want to satisfy this condition.
by Gragagrogog
Sep 30 2017 09:27
Forum: Rules & FAQ
Topic: Have you been Overcharging your CIBs correctly?
Replies: 30
Views: 1556

Re: Have you been Overcharging your CIBs correctly?

... but, all fire is simultaneously happening. ... Not rly, all fire from a unit to a unit is resolved in bulk, but it's not simultaneous at all. Technically, every individual attack is resolved completely one at a time, including removing models as casualties. So technically the target unit can pu...
by Gragagrogog
Sep 30 2017 08:20
Forum: Rules & FAQ
Topic: Rule question regarding Shadowsun's drones.
Replies: 23
Views: 967

Re: Rule question regarding Shadowsun's drones.

I read this as 0-3.

Go to advanced search