How to maximize my and my opponents enjoyment in each game

Use this area for all discussions of the "gaming" aspect of 40K/Tau.
materpillar
Shas'La
Shas'La

How to maximize my and my opponents enjoyment in each game

Post#1 » Jun 30 2015 09:01

So I've been playing Warhammer 40k for a few years now and there are a several conflicting trends that keep becoming more and more clear to me. I was wondering if anyone else had any experience or advice for me in dealing with them.

The thing that really calls to me about the tau play style is their ability to surgically to remove specific models/squads from the table. I love the ability to cripple the vital parts of my opponents army in a way that allows me to dance around and out maneuver the remnants of that army, slowly dissembling it piece by piece. In less elegant terms, when I want something dead, I enjoy the ability to kill it with extreme prejudice and reliability. Just picked up and off the table.

I've come to realize that this desire to slowly bleed the opposing army to death while remaining tantalizingly just out of reach can be rather frustrating to play against. I've managed to somewhat reasonably balance this out by utterly flooding any table I play on with terrain. I'm talking about cities of death/infinity amounts of terrain with minimal firing lanes. This greatly reduces the likely hood that my game will turn into a turkey shoot, because tabling my opponent on turn 2/3 because of lacking terrain is no fun for anyone.