Vector Strike wrote:Sent some questions to FW; this was their answer:
Well, we know that these rules are officially experimental, even if the stamp isn't there. I've heard it said that the stamp is no longer part of the forward-going FW doctrine, but they still called it experimental.
And out of curiosity, what questions is everyone specifically asking, just so we know which ones are going to be "frequent?"
Deepstrike wrote:Also, there seems to be a little misconception over on the BOLS site about how many weapons a Gargantuan creature can fire... The way I read it is that it can fire all of its weapons at different targets, much like a super heavy... However, there are those on that site that believe it's like a monstrous creature in that it may only fire 2 weapons, due to the way one of the phrases is worded..
"Gargantuan Creatures are Monstrous Creatures that have the additional rules and exceptions given below. Flying Gargantuan Creatures are Flying Monstrous Creatures that have the additional rules and exceptions given below."
Monstrous creature shooting reads as:
"Monstrous Creatures can fire up to two of their weapons each Shooting phase – they must, of course, fire both at the same target. They may never Go to Ground, voluntarily or otherwise."
Gargantuan creature shooting reads as this:
"When a Gargantuan Creature or Flying Gargantuan Creature makes a shooting attack, it may fire each of its weapons at a different target if desired. In addition, firing Ordnance weapons has no effect on a Gargantuan Creature or Flying Gargantuan Creature’s ability to fire other weapons. Gargantuan Creatures and Flying Gargantuan Creatures cannot fire Overwatch."
Personally, I still read it as ALL weapons may be fired. I'm very curious on the communities take on this though.
This is one, for example, that I see coming up. The Garg Creature rules make a specific exception, but, people are disputing whether that exception is only for the single-target limit or both the single-target and two-weapon limits. Personally, leaning towards the latter.
*If, for some reason, it turns out that it's only two weapons, does the VDS count as a single weapon or as four? Technically the SMS and Burst cannons aren't listed in the Wargear, but the VDS is. The VDS therefore is a single piece of gear that provides them, rather than a simple special rule that modifies the overwatch rules for four weapons.
*All Tau models get Supporting Fire, but not this model. Some say it doesn't have Supporting Fire because GCs can't normally
overwatch, and this is an oversight. Others say it's by design. Supporting Fire and a screen would make that BS2 overwatch way more appealing.
*The parenthetical omits the rules for Stomp and FNP from the PDF, even though these are provided to GCs by default in the primary rulebook. Are these rules excluded intentionally or simply just not written in?
*For the Barrier Shield, does the Destroyer have to bypass the invulnerable save before it can roll on the Destroyer table, or can a "saved" Destroyer weapon still drop the shield?
Edit: Before you ridicule me, note that I've already seen these questions come up. Some of them, I'd think were pretty clear cut, but....