If it's just the 6"... then I won't ever be fielding this. A huge chunk of points that is beaten by other formations. We'll at least I needed pieces of this. Anyone wanna buy a devilfish & 10 pathfinders?
The formation ability would let you move a homing beacon or positional relay 6" prior to your reserves coming in. This effectively gives you a 12" bubble for a pinpoint deep strike or proximity to a board edge for outflanking.
Also, do we know if it's a single broadside for the formation or can you take a full unit?
I would assume you can take a unit of broadsides, one or three still counts as a single unit.
Is an okay rule, nothing that is game changing.... doesn't make the formation worth taking in my book. Seeing as Chaos just got free hit and run before the movement phase that auto passes, plus 3inches to movement, charge, and run. And duplicating pink horrors... It's possible we may become out gunned in a drawn out fight very soon..
Last edited by Demorte on Dec 10 2016 07:39, edited 1 time in total.
Based on the formation definition in those pictures I would say only 1 Broadside. Also only 1 Ghostkeel. As the formation doesn't include the word unit when referring to the Broadside or the Ghostkeel. It does include the word team/unit when referring to Pathfinders/Stealth suits.
I would agree with TauMinded. This is the same kind of wording in the Canoptek harvest formation with the Tomb Spyder. Since the formation sheet only lists one of a given model, in this case the Ghostkeel and the Broadside, then they will be just the one model. The stealth team on the other hand could be a made to be a full 6 member team since it lists them as a unit.
Definitely only one Broadside. It doesn't say "1 Broadside unit" but "1 Broadside". It's pretty much intended by GW to write things like this by now considering Skitarii have the very same problem with some of their formations with their chicken walker.