Got some games, opinions, and would like some discussion.

Use this area for all discussions of the "gaming" aspect of 40K/Tau.
KinGensai
Shas

Got some games, opinions, and would like some discussion.

Post#1 » Dec 04 2017 02:01

So far, I have played 4 games in total (3 against IG, one against CWE), and have been pleasantly surprised in some areas.

Stealth suits are much more durable than I gave them credit for before I started playing them. Earthshakers have a rough time getting casualties to stick efficiently and a stupid amount of firepower is required to take out a 3 man squad (much more than 300 points of IG, that's for sure). I am definitely happy with their defensive capabilities and will continue taking them solely because of that, because their offensive output has been lacking as I expected.

I also ran some crisis suits here (a 3 man tri-plas team and a 3 man tri-flamer team) in all games and there is a very clear winner here. I may run tri-plas suits later on when the codex comes out and I expand the army, but right now the tri-flamer team has wreaked havoc on horde infantry, often killing multiple units of infantry before they are taken out. BS4+ is too weak with tri-plas, and the cost is not reflected in the damage output, so off they go to await the codex and either upgrades or a list that sports more markerlights.

Commanders are great (2 quad fusion and 1 3x CIB ATS), nothing to see here.

Ghostkeel is a big flop IMO, it has done all of jack squat every game, so I'm putting these away for later. Definitely not a self-sufficient model.