During my game yesterday I came across an incredibly complex situation. I'm not really sure if my decision was correct.
It's my turn 4 in a Tau vs Tau game playing Spoils of War (the Maelstrom where you can score either players Secure Objective X). I'm currently losing by 3-4 points.
Here is the situation before he moves at the top of Turn 4.
He moves his pathfinders to flank my squad, killing one of the suits. He puts the rest of his fire power into my iridium commander and wounds him twice. He then screens his crisis suit squad with his piranhas.
My remaining relevant units are as follows. A deathstar with the following
Commander Fusion Blaster, Twin-Linked Fusion Blaster, Stims, Fusion Blade, Puretide, Iridium, Talisman (2 wounds left)
Farsight Counts-As, is my warlord (The small character on the red base in the middle of the squad)
Crisis Team - 2x Members - FB/FB, FB/FB + VRT
Strike Team - 3x members surviving, Pulse Rifle, SMS Turret
Strike Team - 2x members surviving, Pulse Rifle, SMS Turret (both being harassed by a handful of drones)
All members + turrets are in range of the piranhas.
His Remaining Relevant Forces
Ethereal - Used the triple tap ability last turn, is the warlord and is In Devilfish, D-Pod (drones already deployed)
Note: We agreed before the game that we'd allow his ethereal to sit in his devilfish and still use powers even though the new FAQ says that isn't correct.
Crisis Team - 4x Members, MP, TL-MP, + Shas'vre, TL-MP, Puretide Engram Chip
Pathfinders - 8x Members
Piranhas - 2x FB (drones deployed).
The piranhas moved directly in front of the crisis team.
What do I do during turn 4? The relevant maelstrom card I drew is "issue a challenge". After moving I have a 5-6" charge to reach the piranhas and a 7" charge to reach the crisis team if both piranhas explode. If at least one is merely wrecked, it'll be dangerous terrain and a 9" charge. If neither are destroyed I can't reach the crisis team. If I want to charge the pathfinders I can move so that is almost guaranteed.
Here is the situation after I made my decisions Turn 4 (this shows much more closely how things were deployed during my turn than the previous turn, note that there was a piranha directly in front of my commander, but it was removed as it exploded).
I ended up splitting the commander/farsight off of the 2 FB crisis team. Then I shot my firewarriors and the 2x FB team into the piranhas. After jinking I wrecked one. I then multi-assaulted into the piranhas with the crisis team as a secondary target with my commander/farsight after shooting neither of them. I made the charge into the piranha but not into the crisis team. As a result my two FB crisis suits were slain.
My thought was that if I managed to make the charge I'd almost certainly win combat and could destroy the piranha and sweep the crisis team which would basically end his army and win me the game. I'd also be able to challenge his shas'vre and get my maelstrom card. I figured it was very risky, but I was losing by a good bit already. In hindsight I'm not so sure if I should have split off my two crisis suits because it basically guarantees they die if I don't make the charge into the crisis team. Maybe I should have just shot his piranhas to pieces and then assault jumped right on top of his crisis team/ethereal so I could almost certainly charge them next turn.
So to summarize, you have a fusion blade commander, farsight (warlord) and 2x FB crisis suits in a squad and are losing by 3-4 maelstrom points with your only achievable point this turn being "Declare a Challenge". Do you split up the squad this turn? How much priority do you put in making the assault into the crisis team? How do you try and clear out the piranhas to make that charge if you want to go for it (remember if you kill them both with the commander he can't charge the crisis team). Do you just shoot FBs into the crisis squad assuming you won't make the charge on them? Do you do something else completely? You also have two very small strike squads, do they pepper the piranhas, the crisis suits, or the several small gun drone units attacking them?