Riptide wing and fire team rule

A review of past Tactics by commanders during the First, Second, Third & Fourth Phase Expansion.
TheDragonsDen
Shas'La
Shas'La
Posts: 12

Riptide wing and fire team rule

Post#1 » Feb 10 2017 04:55

So, does the Fire team rule of +1 BS apply to a riptide wing with 3 riptides in it? The entire detachment has 3 riptides, so it's not a 3/1/1 or anything. I'm fuzzy on the whole 'unit' and 'squad' rules. Thanks in advance.

For the Greater Good!!

User avatar
Unusualsuspect
Kroot'Ui
Kroot'Ui
Posts: 596

Re: Riptide wing and fire team rule

Post#2 » Feb 10 2017 05:49

The Riptide Wing formation consists of 3 separate Riptide units.

The "Fire Team" special rule requires all 3 models to be in the same unit to benefit from the bonus.

Thus, unless one of the units in the Riptide Wing consists of 3 Riptide models (the 3/1/1 situation you mentioned), your Riptides will NOT benefit from the Fire Team rule.

Cheers!

User avatar
Panzer
Shas'Saal
Posts: 3127

Re: Riptide wing and fire team rule

Post#3 » Feb 10 2017 07:12

What Unusualsuspect said. The Fire Team rule says units, not formation.
3 Riptides in a unit = yes. 3 Riptides in a formation = no.
However you could put 3 Riptides in each unit in that formation of 3 Riptide units, then they'd benefit from the Fire Team rule as well....and who wouldn't want 9 Riptides on the field? :biggrin:

User avatar
Unusualsuspect
Kroot'Ui
Kroot'Ui
Posts: 596

Re: Riptide wing and fire team rule

Post#4 » Feb 10 2017 08:49

Panzer wrote:What Unusualsuspect said. The Fire Team rule says units, not formation.
3 Riptides in a unit = yes. 3 Riptides in a formation = no.
However you could put 3 Riptides in each unit in that formation of 3 Riptide units, then they'd benefit from the Fire Team rule as well....and who wouldn't want 9 Riptides on the field? :biggrin:


A player's Significant Other. ;)

Return to “Archival Datacore”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest