I'm afraid of painting Tau tanks.

General discussions about the hobby side to Tau & 40K.
Arka0415
Shas'Ui
Shas'Ui

I'm afraid of painting Tau tanks.

Post#1 » Jun 06 2017 05:07

I've been playing Tau since 2008. I have a fully-painted 4000pt force (Vior'la colors)... with matte-black Devilfish and Hammerheads. I'm terrified of painting the smooth curves and flat panels, afraid I'll end up with lumpy, uneven surfaces. I tried painting one a long time ago, and it turned out horribly. Young me didn't realize that painting white over black was a bad idea.

I'm thinking about starting a new Tau Sept army, but the sticking point is still the Hammerheads. Should I use an ochre-colored spray paint, and use brush-on paint on the black and brown parts? Or should I spray brown/black, and brush on the ochre? I figure spraying the whole army ochre would be a quick way to start though. I know airbrushes are popular, but they're pretty expensive.

Any thoughts on painting Tau tanks overall, or good ways to get smooth colors on Tau vehicles? I'm open to any suggestions!

Gragagrogog
Shas'La
Shas'La

Re: I'm afraid of painting Tau tanks.

Post#2 » Jun 06 2017 05:18

I have a 50€ airbrush&compressor kit and I can tell you that it's good enough for spraying uniform thin coats.

Kakapo42
Shas'Vre
Shas'Vre

Post#3 » Jun 06 2017 08:06

I don't really have any experience with using spray coats, as I do all my painting by hand, but I've found that the key to painting any large flat smooth surface is patience. The only real way to get such surfaces looking even is with several very thin coats. In my own experience I find three or four coats usually does the trick for bright colours over a black undercoat (although sometimes I find I can get away with just two), followed by one or two coats thinned down almost to the consistency of a wash to smooth out any lingering uneven patches.