The Imperial Valkyrie

A Forum to discuss models of the Tau's Enemies, including Alternate Wargame Systems.
buffirn
Shas

The Imperial Valkyrie

Post#1 » Apr 14 2009 04:16

This past Saturday, I had the fortune to build the new IG Valkyrie for my LGS. It came to the store with no instructions, so I had to wing it a bit. Actually, I used the FW Valkyrie in the display case as a reference.

I've been building models for 40 years now and I can honestly say the GW is getting better in their basic model kit construction. There was very little flash and the fit was quite good. The only problem area was the pilot's and gunner's left arms and the clearance from the canopy and the sill. After some serious hacking and slashing, they finally fit. The canopy rails are quite ingenious. Most of the canopy is, of course, clear, but the rails are separate pieces that are glued to the sides of the clear canopy. The fit here was excellent and with a little delicate gluing, the canopies look like a single piece of plastic. With no instructions, I didn't figure out exactly how the door gunners and their heavy bolters went together and fit into the doorways, so I left them off. I think I can add them in later.

I used Tenax 7R plastic cement for the gluing. The cleanup of the parts took only my trusty Xacto knife. I finished it in about 3 hours, but your time will vary. I wish I had some pictures. Maybe on the next one.

I heartily recommend this kit despite the fairly hefty price. The model is very nice. It will be a great addition to my IG force which doubles as a Gue'vesa force. I can almost hear Wagner now.

Jim Williams
Old Guy
Just keep shooting! They can't roll that many 6's!

Xeones
Shas

Re: The Imperial Valkyrie

Post#2 » Apr 14 2009 05:31

Thanks for the run-down. Any pictures of the finished product perhaps?
SPRUE FOR THE SPRUE GOD!!!

BrightLance
Shas

Post#3 » Apr 14 2009 09:39

It irks me to say that my favorite model is no longer tau...

:sad: