Unusualsuspect wrote:Ogryns are models with more than 2 wounds. Shooting at an unwounded squad of 3, I inflicted 2 wounds which he failed his cover save against. He had allocated them to the 2 ogryns that were not the Bonehead, and thus homogenous.
The rules for multiwound models states only that you must remove whole models as casualties if possible. He wanted to allocate 1 wound to each Ogryn.
Is this permissible, or is the wording in the multi-wound section stronger than I read it and actually requires as many unsaved wounds as possible on a single model until it is dead?
No, it isn't permissible. You inflicted two wounds, and your opponent assigned them to the two not-Boneheads - in effect, assigning them to the not-Bonehead "group." He then took saving rolls (at the same time, because they're homogenous), and failed them both. Whole models have to be taken first, so one of the Ogryns dies. If, on the other hand, the two models had been carrying different weapons, he would have rolled separately for each, and there would have been the chance that they both had one wound but no models died.
No worries, this isn't threadnomancy - you posted your question in the right place. It's stickied for a reason!