Piranha Firestream + FAQ ruling

A review of Rules of Engagement from earlier encounters.
User avatar
boomwolf
Shas'La
Posts: 1743

Re: Piranha Firestream + FAQ ruling

Post#19 » Jul 16 2016 02:10

Well, it would counter the renegade Endless Host army pretty much without competition.

And flooding the deployment zone could help against beta strike lists by simply not giving landing zones.

Not too worried about KDK blood tithe feed though, the drone factory drops more drone value than blood tithe can summon anyhow.




In any case, could the factory drop the drones further up the field, I'd say its great. but given that they cant score, and only drop in the back-I find it hard to gain real value there.
Sure, you spawn a lot. but they wont DO a lot. the later waves won't really reach the frontlines unless you are being heavily pushed anyway.

mothyy
Shas'Saal
Posts: 32

Re: Piranha Firestream + FAQ ruling

Post#20 » Jul 18 2016 06:26

nic wrote:
Drones are a separate unit for all purposes once disembarked, this was reinforced in the KDK FAQ where it was stated that they drones do give Blood Tithe if killed after disembarking. Once the drones have detached they are nothing to do with the Piranha unit for the rest of the game. The drones should still be considered part of the formation but I am not sure that it would ever matter much that they are.



I don't think the drones would count as part of the formation after detaching, as the formation consists of 4 units of piranhas. If they do, then rules as written, they can also rearm and refuel as a separate unit.

I also want to know what happens if a piranha gets immobilised and you abandon it from the squadron. I guess you'd end up with a "free" extra immobilised piranha?

User avatar
Glassjaw
Shas
Posts: 106

Re: Piranha Firestream + FAQ ruling

Post#21 » Jul 19 2016 04:06

New drones or not, lose one piranha and you can replace it when you R+R, which is the real benefit as the unit comes back full strength.

And don't forget seeker missiles. They'll allow the piranhas to skirt the table edges with 60" homing ignores cover crack missiles, that you can just replace. And now that they can still fire at bs 5 from a markerlight even if they boost or jink, what's not to love?
dakka dakka dakka

User avatar
Vector Strike
Shas'La
Posts: 887

Re: Piranha Firestream + FAQ ruling

Post#22 » Jul 19 2016 08:25

Drones are part of the formation, but they aren't part of the unit of piranhas. The piranhas that disembarked the drones can return to the reserves and bring more.

User avatar
nic
Kroot'La
Posts: 727

Re: Piranha Firestream + FAQ ruling

Post#23 » Jul 19 2016 03:22

Vector Strike wrote:Drones are part of the formation, but they aren't part of the unit of piranhas. The piranhas that disembarked the drones can return to the reserves and bring more.


So far as I can tell a depleted unit of drones could also enter reserves and return at full strength the next turn. Not something you would build a strategy on but possibly useful.

From the draft FAQ I would think the drones could re-enter play by Deep Strike which is weird.

mothyy
Shas'Saal
Posts: 32

Re: Piranha Firestream + FAQ ruling

Post#24 » Aug 03 2016 04:45

I think you're definitely right about the drones being able to rearm and refuel, the tyranid FAQ tervigon ruling backs this up IMO. I'm not sure you could enter by deep strike though? I'm leaning the other way on that myself.

User avatar
Panzer
Shas'La
Posts: 2230

Re: Piranha Firestream + FAQ ruling

Post#25 » Aug 04 2016 11:04

Well there is only one kind of ongoing reserves and it's nowhere said that they can't deep strike from there.

mothyy
Shas'Saal
Posts: 32

Re: Piranha Firestream + FAQ ruling

Post#26 » Aug 05 2016 05:20

The latest tyranid FAQ seems to lean the other way:

https://m.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=1 ... &source=54

Shows that tyranid models entering ongoing reserves with a deep strike rule cannot use deep strike to move onto the board.

User avatar
Panzer
Shas'La
Posts: 2230

Re: Piranha Firestream + FAQ ruling

Post#27 » Aug 05 2016 07:19

Well that's a Tyranid FAQ. As long as there is no BRB FAQ or Tau FAQ that states otherwise it's just an assumption. RAW it's still possible to deep strike for everyone except for the units in that Tyranid formation.

mothyy
Shas'Saal
Posts: 32

Re: Piranha Firestream + FAQ ruling

Post#28 » Aug 06 2016 03:57

The Deep Strike rule specifies that "all models in the unit must have the Deep Strike rule and the unit must start the game in Reserves". RAW I don't see how the drones could deep strike?

User avatar
Panzer
Shas'La
Posts: 2230

Re: Piranha Firestream + FAQ ruling

Post#29 » Aug 06 2016 05:11

Ah okay that changes things. Why not quote the actual important rule directly instead of quoting the Tyranids FAQ? :D

mothyy
Shas'Saal
Posts: 32

Re: Piranha Firestream + FAQ ruling

Post#30 » Aug 06 2016 08:38

Sorry :P Will do next time

Syzygy
Shas
Posts: 10

Re: Piranha Firestream + FAQ ruling

Post#31 » Aug 07 2016 09:01

Aren't drones 'Jet Pack Infantry' and consequently have the deep strike USR?

User avatar
Panzer
Shas'La
Posts: 2230

Re: Piranha Firestream + FAQ ruling

Post#32 » Aug 07 2016 10:47

Syzygy wrote:Aren't drones 'Jet Pack Infantry' and consequently have the deep strike USR?

That's why we were considering it in the first place.

Return to “Archival Datacore”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest