mothyy wrote:I'd say that sounds correct. If you had them exactly one on top of the other, they'd both be the same distance from a 2D view, and the commander on top would be closer from a 3D view, so either way you opponent argued it you could still allocate the wound to the commander. I'm guessing LoS! just isn't cutting it at the moment?
The problem is that S6 barrage weapons will ID any Ethereal, so the first time I roll a 1 on Look Out Sir it really hurts. When I have thunderfire cannon dropping multiple barrages on my HQ the odds start looking very bad. Rolling a 1 on the Commander is no big deal, he might FNP the wound or he might lose a wound. In practice most opponents give up on trying to kill an Iridium + Stims commander with barrage weapons after a turn or two.
Glad nobody can see a flaw in my understanding of the rules. I thought it best to check before relying on it.