XV8 and shooting questions

A review of Rules of Engagement from earlier encounters.
Blade Runner
Shas'Saal
Posts: 63

XV8 and shooting questions

Post#1 » Sep 29 2016 09:45

I've searched but haven't been able to find the answer to this, XV8s have multi-trackers allowing them to fire two weapons, a twin-linked weapon takes two hard points but counts as one weapon shooting, so if a xv8 had a third weapon, can it also fire it as well as the twin-linked ones. Ex: xv8 has TL PR & FB, vx8 shoots all weapons. Am I right in this assumption?

User avatar
Agentarrow
Fio'Vre
Fio'Vre
Posts: 1618

Re: XV8 and shooting questions

Post#2 » Sep 29 2016 10:22

This is correct. Hard points do not equal weapons. A single weapon can occupy more than one hardpoint, and hardpoints can be occupied by non-weapon items.
If a Crisis Suit has a twin-linked weapon it only counts as a single weapon for the purposes of firing.

Blade Runner
Shas'Saal
Posts: 63

Re: XV8 and shooting questions

Post#3 » Sep 30 2016 05:13

Thanks Agentarrow.
Just so I'm clear. If a single XV8 had TL BC, and a third BC with no signature systems, it could pump out 12 shots (4 each BC).

User avatar
Plasma Storm
Shas
Posts: 24

Re: XV8 and shooting questions

Post#4 » Sep 30 2016 08:20

Blade Runner wrote:Thanks Agentarrow.
Just so I'm clear. If a single XV8 had TL BC, and a third BC with no signature systems, it could pump out 12 shots (4 each BC).


No, the TL BC allows you to re-roll your failed to hit hits. So a TL BC and a BC can pump out 8 shots, with 4 being possible to re-roll if they are 4 failed hits from the TL BC.

Does that make sense Blade Runner?
Through Plasma, Superiority

Blade Runner
Shas'Saal
Posts: 63

Re: XV8 and shooting questions

Post#5 » Sep 30 2016 08:46

Not really, now I'm actually confused.
I'll try a different set up.
XV8 has TL PR & a FB.
The multi-tracker allows two weapons to shoot or to be more accurate, to fire an additional weapon each shooting phase.
TL PR shoot together as one weapon (re-roll any missed shots)
Then the FB can shoot
A total of two shots.

If I'm wrong, that's cool, I was just trying to see if it was possible to make a loaded AP killer.

Thanks

User avatar
Plasma Storm
Shas
Posts: 24

Re: XV8 and shooting questions

Post#6 » Sep 30 2016 08:56

That is correct Blade Runner.
Through Plasma, Superiority

Blade Runner
Shas'Saal
Posts: 63

Re: XV8 and shooting questions

Post#7 » Oct 01 2016 04:09

Thanks Plasma Storm,
I know it would be a high pts dump (57pts) but it would be a TEQ wrecking ball

User avatar
Plasma Storm
Shas
Posts: 24

Re: XV8 and shooting questions

Post#8 » Oct 02 2016 01:28

In my opinion Blade Runner, high point TEQ's in particular and Deathstars can work in an army. It just comes down to how you play and what you hope to achieve with them. I like running units of 2 crisis suits at most with special task such as 2 fusions or 2 flamers, they can be costly but it I can say they help neutralised a treat to the rest of my army, they are worth the points. As for deathstars, occasionally I will run a buffmander with like 4-6 crisis suits, each with 2 missiles to be pesky to jump shoot jump and hit them with s7 ap4 TL ignoring cover from 36" away.

So what list are you thinking of and who is the likely opponent?
Through Plasma, Superiority

User avatar
Unicornsilovethem
Shas'Saal
Posts: 278

Re: XV8 and shooting questions

Post#9 » Oct 02 2016 07:58

TL PR shoot together as one weapon (re-roll any missed shots)

To be clear here, there is no "together". They are - or rather, it is - one weapon, with the exact same number of shots as a non-twinlinked kind.

A burst cannon makes 4 shots.

A twinlinked burst cannon makes 4 shots, and rerolls misses.

Blade Runner
Shas'Saal
Posts: 63

Re: XV8 and shooting questions

Post#10 » Oct 02 2016 09:10

So a TL PR only gets one shot (1D6) with a reroll if needed?
Not two shots (2D6) with a reroll if needed?

User avatar
Panzer
Shas'Saal
Posts: 3548

Re: XV8 and shooting questions

Post#11 » Oct 02 2016 09:12

Exactly.

Blade Runner
Shas'Saal
Posts: 63

Re: XV8 and shooting questions

Post#12 » Oct 02 2016 11:28

So basically the options are:
Two PR, two shots 24" (2D6), four shots 12" (4D6), 30pts
OR
TL PR, one shot 24" (1D6), two shots 12" (2D6), re-roll misses, 20pts

User avatar
Unicornsilovethem
Shas'Saal
Posts: 278

Re: XV8 and shooting questions

Post#13 » Oct 02 2016 03:19

Blade Runner wrote:So basically the options are:
Two PR, two shots 24" (2D6), four shots 12" (4D6), 30pts
OR
TL PR, one shot 24" (1D6), two shots 12" (2D6), re-roll misses, 20pts

I'm not sure what you mean by "the options" here. You can put either of those two configurations on your crisis suit. You can also buy a fusion blaster together with either. A suit is able to carry three weapons, but only use two of them at a time. So your could choose 2 Plasma and a Fusion, and alternate between using both plasmas or using plasma+fusion. Or you could buy a TL plasma and a regular plasma.

You have three spots to fill. A regular weapon costs one spot and (usually) 15 points. A twinlinked weapon costs 2 spots and (usually) 20pts. Shoot up to 2 weapons per phase.

One last note, two flamers is always better than twinlinked flamer and costs the same.

User avatar
Panzer
Shas'Saal
Posts: 3548

Re: XV8 and shooting questions

Post#14 » Oct 02 2016 03:35

Blade Runner wrote:So basically the options are:
Two PR, two shots 24" (2D6), four shots 12" (4D6), 30pts
OR
TL PR, one shot 24" (1D6), two shots 12" (2D6), re-roll misses, 20pts

Actually there is a third option. To not make it unnecessary confusing i'll stick to the full PR loadout.
You can also take a TL PR (2 hardpoints) + a single normal PR (another hardpoint spend).
That way you use all 3 hardpoints available for your crisis and have two weapons. A TL PR and a normal PR.
So 2 shots at >12" with one of it re-rolleable and 4 shots at 12" or less with two of them re-rolleable.

That loadout would cost you 35p. However TL weapons are not really necessary for us as Tau. We can push our BS pretty well with Markerlights and we also have a signature system that gives the whole unit re-rolls to hit if the one who has the system equipped doesn't shoot himself (one of the most important signature systems for the classic Buff'O/Buff'Vre loadout!)

Unicornsilovethem wrote:One last note, two flamers is always better than twinlinked flamer and costs the same.

Not just flamer. Two of any weapon are better than a twink linked one.

User avatar
Unicornsilovethem
Shas'Saal
Posts: 278

Re: XV8 and shooting questions

Post#15 » Oct 02 2016 03:47

Not just flamer. Two of any weapon are better than a twink linked one.

Sure, but not for the same price.

Return to “Archival Datacore”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest