Stormsurge rules questions

A review of Rules of Engagement from earlier encounters.
Blade Runner
Shas'Saal
Posts: 63

Stormsurge rules questions

Post#1 » Jan 18 2017 02:47

Strikedown:
So if I say, shoot at 5 terminaters, wound 3, and two make their saves. Because of strikedown they move as if they are moving through difficult terrain?

Ignores cover:
Gargantuan creatures are conferred ignore cover. So do all weapons get it or only weapons that have it in there "type" profile?

Thanks in advance

User avatar
Unicornsilovethem
Shas'Saal
Posts: 278

Re: Stormsurge rules questions

Post#2 » Jan 18 2017 03:39

I don't understand what you are asking. Are you trying to say something about how gargantuans get Move Through Cover?

About Strikedown, none of the Stormsurge's ranged weapons have it. It only applies to the close combat attacks.

User avatar
Panzer
Shas'Saal
Posts: 3537

Re: Stormsurge rules questions

Post#3 » Jan 18 2017 05:35

Move through cover != ignore cover. Be careful here!

And asUnicornsilovethem already said Strikedown is only for melee attacks on the Stormsurge. For your example: Strikedown would have no effect (even if it were melee) since it's on a model per model base. Terminators have only 1 wound so by the time Strikedown would affect one of them they are already dead. Strikedown only works against multiwound models. ;)

Blade Runner
Shas'Saal
Posts: 63

Re: Stormsurge rules questions

Post#4 » Jan 18 2017 06:00

Ok
I'll try and clarify

Strikedown: it says that if a model takes or saves a wound that it acts as moving through cover until its next turn. If this is in melee, what the point in having it.

Gargantuan creatures hove move through cover and ignores cover. So when it comes to shooting, does the Ignore cover get conferred to all its weapons. Or does it have to be stated so in a weapons "type" category.

User avatar
Roh
Shas
Posts: 1

Re: Stormsurge rules questions

Post#5 » Jan 18 2017 07:02

Hey there!

Strike Down mentions explicitly models and not the unit so any model (one Terminator) that suffers a saved or unsaved wound treats all terrain as difficult terrain.

The unit type gargantuan creatures does not confer the ignore cover rule.
Only the smart missile system has it.

Hope I could help you!

User avatar
Turbo_MMX
Kroot'Ui
Kroot'Ui
Posts: 271

Re: Stormsurge rules questions

Post#6 » Jan 18 2017 10:53

Strikedown also applies to stomp attacks. You can stomp units outside of the combat you are in. Can be very useful in slowing down units attempting to charge into the combat or get past a surge to other models in your army.
The Mighty Kroot Power Gamer!

Ah yes, ya gotta love it

User avatar
Panzer
Shas'Saal
Posts: 3537

Re: Stormsurge rules questions

Post#7 » Jan 19 2017 01:32

Strikedown has little to no effect in melee. Only if the CC breaks for some reason (one side flees/dies or hit&run) it comes into effect. It's a pretty lackluster special rule given it only affects multi-wound models and only if they would be able to move in their turn.

User avatar
Unicornsilovethem
Shas'Saal
Posts: 278

Re: Stormsurge rules questions

Post#8 » Jan 19 2017 01:45

Panzer wrote:Terminators have only 1 wound so by the time Strikedown would affect one of them they are already dead. Strikedown only works against multiwound models. ;)

Strikedown affects models that take an unsaved wound, and models that pass an armour test.

User avatar
Panzer
Shas'Saal
Posts: 3537

Re: Stormsurge rules questions

Post#9 » Jan 19 2017 02:36

Unicornsilovethem wrote:
Panzer wrote:Terminators have only 1 wound so by the time Strikedown would affect one of them they are already dead. Strikedown only works against multiwound models. ;)

Strikedown affects models that take an unsaved wound, and models that pass an armour test.

Huh, you are right. Totally forgot that it works against saved wounds as well (not just armor save even).

Return to “Archival Datacore”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest