Fortification rules question

Discuss any rules that are confusing or bothering you.
Prophet224
Shas'Saal

Fortification rules question

Post#1 » Mar 03 2017 11:39

Hello everyone!

I am brand new to ATT, brand new to Tau, and brand new to 40k in general. Yikes.

I'm trying to be careful about where I post this, building or rules, but while it is about building, I don't think the Earth Caste handles this kind of question.

So, once I decided I was going to play, started building and playing, and then painting, I started researching too.

I built my first ADN before I was finished building my Tau "Start Playing" set. Then I saw some of the cool things on Pinterest and thought "I can do that". Both the ADN and the fortification shown below were either complete or in progress before I realized "Hey wait, there are actually rules for these things!"

So here is my question. I put together the fortification shown below. It is bare bones because once I realized this possible issue I didn't want to continue work. It is about 12 inches high. From what I am seeing, that is non-standard. It also has battlements, but if I understand movement correctly that is quite a bit to reasonably move in a turn; basically you'd have a unit out of action for a full turn. OR - do the rules allow you to enter through an approved access point and then just exit through another one even if it is farther away than normal? I know there is a building ability that puts an exit like 12 inches away... (Note that the building does not show access points yet. I plan to put one on the battlement later.)

Finally, what about a special rule - "Battle Elevator" - a unit may enter and is lifted quickly to a battle position, allowing egress ... I don't know, in the following movement phase?