Mortal wounds timing

Discuss any rules that are confusing or bothering you.
Nymphomanius
Shas'Saal
Posts: 533
Contact:

Mortal wounds timing

Post#1 » Sep 27 2017 01:04

Hey so just wondering does anyone know at what point a mortal wound caused by a rail weapon is applied is it before the rail gun damage or after?

I know that 90% of the time it won't happen but vs units of multiple wounds models like terminators it can make a big difference.

For example I shoot 3 RR from Pathfinder 2 hit both wound a 4+6.

If the MW is applied first then he has to make saving throws for that model first (which makes a difference to TH / SS units) and if he failed 1 save 1 model is dead, if he failed both 1 dies and roll D3 damage for second.

If the MW is second he would take saves first again if passes 1 I would do D3 damage potentially killing 1 and a wound rolls over onto next terminator.

Does anyone know which way around its applied?

User avatar
Gragagrogog
Shas'La
Shas'La
Posts: 410

Re: Mortal wounds timing

Post#2 » Sep 27 2017 01:45

Non-mortal damage is first.

Q: If a weapon such as a rail rifle has an ability that can
inflict a mortal wound on the target in addition to the normal
damage, but the ‘normal damage’ is subsequently saved, does
the target still suffer the mortal wound?
A: Yes. Note that if the ‘normal damage’ was not saved,
the wound would be allocated on the target unit first
(and any resulting damage inflicted) before the mortal
wound was inflicted.


(Rulebook FAQ, https://www.warhammer-community.com/201 ... ge-post-2/ )

User avatar
Panzer
Shas'Saal
Posts: 3548

Re: Mortal wounds timing

Post#3 » Sep 27 2017 06:24

Always check the FAQ first. ;)

Drago Solaris
Shas'Saal
Posts: 30

Re: Mortal wounds timing

Post#4 » Nov 26 2017 05:46

Sorry to add to this older thread, but something that has come up for me is the order when firing multiple shots.

So quick dice would work as above, you roll all your hits with one gun type, roll all your wounds, oh look 2 mortal wounds, that kills a terminator. Now roll d3 damage twice and try and kill 2 more. Potential for 3 dead terminators.

The issue is that this may not technically be correct. As with Markerlights (roll one at a time to try and get the reroll 1's), technically shouldn't you roll each gun one at a time?

This would mean in the above scenario, first gun hits and wounds on a 6, causing 1 mortal wound to a terminator. Then they fail the save and you roll a redundant d3 damage, killing a terminator. The second gun then does the same, only killing 2 terminators maximum vs the 3 terminators in the fast rolling method.

Anyone else had this come up? Is this addressed somewhere i have been unable to find?

User avatar
Gragagrogog
Shas'La
Shas'La
Posts: 410

Re: Mortal wounds timing

Post#5 » Nov 26 2017 07:36

Drago Solaris wrote:So quick dice would work as above, you roll all your hits with one gun type, roll all your wounds, oh look 2 mortal wounds, that kills a terminator. Now roll d3 damage twice and try and kill 2 more. Potential for 3 dead terminators.


No, you allocate wounds, roll saves, inflict damage and remove models sequentially. So... you fastrolled two to wound rolls with 6s, then you pick one of the wounds, the enemy allocates it to a termie, rolls saves, you inflict D3 damage if the save fails, then you inflict 1 mortal damage. Then you do the same for the other wound. There's no way you can kill 3 terminators with 2 rail rifle proc'd wounds. Maximum what you can do is kill 2 termies and wound another one, regardless of if you're fastrolling or not.

The rules say:
1) The default rolling order is resolving every attack completely one by one.
Optional 2) Fastrolling, IF YOU WANT and as long as the attacks have the same BS/WS, S, AP, D characteristic, you can roll "to hit" and "to wound" for multiple attacks simultanously, then you allocate wounds one by one.

Note that this, despite any intentions GW might have had, does not mean fastrolling should somehow always have the same result as rolling dice individually.

Also, situations can occur where your fastroll results in some wounds with and some wounds without bonus mortal damage, in which case the order in which the attacks are allocated is "unclear" and it falls onto the controlling player(who's turn it is) to decide.

Return to “Rules & FAQ”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest