Bloodknife92 wrote: Nymphomanius wrote:
Arka0415 wrote:Should be pretty simple.
You have BS4+. You roll a 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6. The 1, 2, and 3 are fails, so they are re-rolled.
Let's say you got a 2, 3, and 4 with those new rolls. Now, since re-rolling is complete, we add 1.
Now we have 3, 4, and 5, as well as the original 4, 5, and 6 which become 5, 6, and 7.
Our final dice show 3, 4, 5, 5, 6, and 7. Out of those, the 3 is a failure, so it is discarded.
Total, five hits.
Let's try that again but with the assumption you can choose which dice you reroll.
4,5,6 are hits
1,2,3 are misses and eligible for reroll
You know you have +1 to hit so choose to reroll just the 1+2
You now roll a 3+4 with those dice
Apply the +1
You have now rolled 4,4,5,5,6,7 and landed 6 hits.
This is all very clear to me, which is great. My only issue is: does the first result of 3
stay? Or get discarded as a fail? I don't see why it would be discarded, but many people have argued with me that it is.
You seem lost. Me too! (O god, screen name pun.)
Maybe this will help.
Scenario: You have a six firewalkers that are recieving a the benefits of Kauyon this turn. You have 5 markerlights on your target you shoot at. You shoot at an enemy unit (non rapid fire range). The natural dice rolls results are "1,2,3,4,5,6
". What happens?
First I'll bring out the actual rule wording (bolding parts I think are most relevant), then I'll give my shoddy interpretation(correct me if I'm wrong here *points*) , then ill give my best guess what I think happens.
["Kauyon: Until the end of the turn, you can re-roll failed hit rolls for friendly <SEPT> units within 6", but these units cannot move for any reason."(page 50 index)]
Rules #2 Per page 181 of the hard cover rule book under Resolve Attacks: " 1. Hit Roll: Each time a model makes an attack , roll a dice . If the roll is equal to or greater than the attacking model's Ballistic Skill characteristic, then it scores a hit with the weapon it is using. If not, the attacks fails and the attack sequence ends. A roll of 1 always fails, irrespective of any modifiers."
Rules 3# July 2017 FAQ page 1: ERRATA
Page 178 – Re-rolls
Change this paragraph to read:
‘Some rules allow you to re-roll a dice roll, which means
you get to roll some or all of the dice again. If a rule
allows you to re-roll a result that was made by adding
several dice together (e.g. 2D6, 3D6, etc.) then, unless
otherwise stated, you must roll all of those dice again.
You can never re-roll a dice more than once, and re-rolls
happen before modifiers (if any) are applied.’
Rules 4#: markerlight count at 5 page 48 index add 1 to hit rolls for T'au empire models attacking this unit
My interpretation of the rules:
#1: if a hit roll is to "fail" you "can choose" to re-roll it. I'm using this ability for our re-roll clause.
#2: in bold is the closest thing to a definition we have fro GW that defines "what constitutes as a failed hit roll?". It can be stated it is not labeled "failed hit roll"." It is called a 'failed attack' under under a section labeled' hit roll'. The intention of definition seems to be here, and there isn't abilities using the wording "failed attacks", therefore I will this is their intended definition of 'failed hit roll'. Note: this is a good place to start if you want to challenge my definitions. I'm interpreting from the game books for 8th edition but I'm still very new at the game.
#3 re-rolls are applied before modifiers wording is right here. It's not talking about just hit rolls , it's about any re-rolls
#4 is a modifier to hit rolls.
You resolve kayoun (rule 1),check all six dice for eligabilty for re-rolls. Using rule 2 4, 5,6
don't qualify for rerolls so set them aside. Dice 3,
uses the 'can re-roll' clause for kayoun rule1# and opts to NOT reroll. dice 2,1
get to re-rolled. So you have dice 3,4,5,6
and the two rerolls.
Rule 3 requires you to apply rule 4 (the modifier
) last. So your final results will be 4 ,5, 6 ,7
and two re-rolls that will get a hit roll modifier
So when you ask does 3
stay or go: it depends on what the re-roll ability is. If it's kayoun, then the wording of 'can re-roll 'allows you to choose to re-roll or not(so don't reroll it ,hint hint)