Harkus959 wrote:I think the main distinction intended by the rules is to create a distinction between when one measures from the hull and when one measures from the barrel.
It never makes a clear statement about what exactly qualifies as the hull, but logic would dictate that it's the main body of a vehicle excluding antenna, sponsons, wytches hanging from the side, etc.
A dozer blade is a tough one as it's a large, solid piece that attaches to the main body of the vehicle itself, so there's an argument in favour of either stance.
My default is to say "yes" when an opponent wants to do something as long as it isn't completely game breaking, or totally ludicrous (which I don't believe this query is) as I find that makes for a more enjoyable game. That being said, in competitive games, a call like that can be rather important, and one might not want to just hand an advantage to one's opponent. In that case, if there's no clear FAQ, I'd say just roll a dice: 4+ it's part of the hull, otherwise it isn't.
Q: When a model does not have a base,
as is the case with many vehicles, what
exactly is the ‘hull’ of the model?
A: The hull of these models refers to
the main body of the model. It does not
include things such as turrets, sponsons,
aerials, banners, spikes etc. If there is still
doubt, we recommend both players agree
about what constitutes the hull of such
models before the battle begins.
nic wrote:I think it is perfectly reasonable for you to say that you do not believe that dozer blade should be part of the hull. The hull is a Rhino hull and the dozer blade looks like an add-on to me. The guidance in the rules is that the players should agree on what counts as the hull - this is one of those cases where choosing to roll off might be a reasonable way to resolve a difference of opinion.
With so many models - and so many custom adaptions of models - I do not really blame the game designers for asking gamers to be reasonable and sort it out themselves.
This is clearly a confusing area of the rules for a lot of players. It would seem not to matter but actually it does more than you would think. I had an interesting discussion with an AM opponent when charging his Leman Russ with dozer blade from outside 8" of the hull (so no heavy flamer overwatch) but the dozer blade meant I could end up within 1" of the model with a 7" roll. He kinda refused to believe that you measure differently for shooting and charging but so far as I can see from the rules you definitely do. Just as you determine Line of Sight using different parts of the model to what would count for measuring distance.
Panzer wrote:As said, it got clarified what counts towards the hull and what not in the Designer's Commentary. No need for players to agree on anything unless they want to houserule it differently.
And no you don't measure differently for shooting and for charging. You measure the distance to and from the hull in both cases.
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests