T0nkaTruckDriver wrote:Can you point me to a FAQ that clarifies this?
I'm new to 8th ed, but watched a Tau player at the local gaming store who was playing Savior Protocol differently.
Sure, you can find it on page XX of this document: https://whc-cdn.games-workshop.com/wp-c ... s_2_en.pdf
‘Saviour Protocols: If a <Sept> Drones unit is within 3"
of a friendly <Sept> Infantry or <Sept> Battlesuit
unit when an enemy attack successfully wounds it, you
can allocate that wound to the Drones unit instead of
the target. If you do, that Drones unit suffers a mortal
wound instead of the normal damage.’
An attack "successfully wounding" means that a to-wound roll is passed; this happens before armor or invulnerable saves are rolled.
T0nkaTruckDriver wrote:He'd roll an armor/invuln save on the Commander. If he failed, he'd pass the wound to a nearby drone using the Savior Protocol rule. He'd then take a mortal wound on the Shield Drone (so it wouldn't get to use it's armor or invuln save), which would then get to take it's 5+++ FNP save.
Was this other gamer that I watched doing it wrong?
That would be powerful indeed, but that's not how the rule works sadly.Edit: I don't know if GW has expressly said whether or not "successfully wounds" comes before or after armor saves. Feel free to post the question on their Facebook page. If it turns out that it comes after armor saves, then we've all been making a mistake for quite some time now.