Krospgnasker wrote:The Grapnel Launcher rule applies "when models move". I believe there is a distinct difference in "moving" and "charging" in 40k, and it would therefore not apply to charges. Might be wrong, but that seems like RAW.
Q. Lots of abilities allow a unit to arrive during the battle and be set up more than 9" from any enemy models. If I use such an ability to set up as close as allowed towards an enemy unit and then select it as the target of the charge, what is the minimum charge distance I need to roll to make a successful charge (assuming no modifiers)?
GND wrote:You need to deploy more 9" from the enemy. Period. And you measure from the closest point of a base to closest point of a base (baring units with rules that instruct you to measure from the hull). You do this fully in 3D space, meaning diagonally if you have to. This is how ALL measurements in 8th edition are done (unless specifically instructed otherwise).
When it comes to charging, it is also considered movement and follows all the rules that apply to that units movement. Saying otherwise would lead to madness. The logic of "charging" is not "movement" therefore is doesn't follow the restrictions of Movement phase is ridiculous. It would allowing charging units to move straight through solid buildings or enemy units provided they roll high enough on 2D6, as there are no such restrictions in the Charge phase. So yes, FLY and other movement affecting abilities, like Grapnel Launchers, work when charging (and consolidating and piling-in).
If you have a unit on an elevated position and an enemy unit deepstrikes onto the ground next to you, they have to stay more than 9" away measured diagonally. If the unit doesn't have FLY or a special ability it would have to charge you by moving horizontally on the ground and vertically straight up, resulting in a charge distance greater than 9 (because Pythagoras triangles). If it has FLY or something similar (like Harlequins have) its charge distance is 9, as it moves towards you diagonally in the shortest possible way. If it has Grapnel Launcher, you just measure the horizontal distance to get bellow you resulting in a charge less than 9 (again, Pythagoras triangles). This is completely OK. There are many abilities in the game that shorten the charge distance after deepstrike. Calling it unfair is like calling Infiltrating unfair because you can deploy outside of your deployment zone.
The FAQ question about minimum charge distance after deepstriking obviously doesn't take into consideration elevated terrain and special rules affecting movement or out of sequence movement, and as such doesn't apply to this specific scenario. Would you try to convince a Tyranid player that his Genestealers that arrived via deepstrike and moved again via Swarmlord still need to roll at least a 9 to charge you despite being 2" away from you?
Kerrygan wrote:And that works with Grapel Launchers but not with Fly?
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests