Recon's Cadre Painting Log

Post long term projects you have devised for your Tau or other hobby projects.
reconjsh
Shas

Recon's Cadre Painting Log

Post#1 » Jul 15 2014 12:51

I started playing 40k May of 2014 (July 2014 when this log started). I've collected a fair sized army and it's only growing, so I'd like a place to document my progress.

To start with, here's the first "half" of my army. I purchased these and assembled them myself.
2x Battle Force boxes; 1x Pirahna; 2x Riptides (not assembled yet); 1x Broadside (not assembled yet); 2x Kroot; 1x Pathfinders; 1x Shadowsun; Tauceti defense line; mechanoid quad-gun

Here's the second "half" of my army. These were assembled, (poorly) painted, and later broken by someone on Craigslist. Great deal, but will be time consuming to fix.

I've NEVER painted minis prior to June 2014, so I figured I'd start and practice with my Kroot, since they're cheap, numerous, and aren't as smooth as other models. I'm about 75% done with these... they need accents, touchups, and basing.

The scheme - Classic US Army colors e.g. Olive Drab Green
Infantry and similar: green armor with tan and brown as other clothing colors. Equipment will depend on type.
Kroot: red.

Changed Scheme. FSE colors. Ignore this.
Vehicles: green, tan, and brown air-brushed digital camo pattern.
Stealth Suits: active phasing from black to based terrain.
Medium suits (crisis, etc.): Tan, with black and green under equipment and accents.
Large suits: TBD later.
Other: Green primary

After I finish my main army, I'm starting a Farsight Enclave army in traditional colors.

Anyway, that's the plan. I'll post items as I go.

Jul 15 2014: posted log. Began stripping paint from Craigslist purchase. Continued work on Kroot.
Last edited by reconjsh on Sep 18 2014 11:53, edited 4 times in total.
My Cadre Log - [need better pictures]

Deepstrike
Shas

Re: Recon's Cadre Log - New Player Starting from Scratch

Post#2 » Jul 15 2014 01:44

You...make...me...sick...