[Project Log] Ice world Tau - Pic heavy [Update 7]

Post long term projects you have devised for your Tau or other hobby projects.
Killshroud
Shas

[Project Log] Ice world Tau - Pic heavy [Update 7]

Post#1 » Aug 27 2014 08:49

+++++Update 7 - Firewarrior skin and crisis posing concept. +++++
After the shoulder emblems I will do the requested tutorials. I first need to push through the last of the paining.

Hi ATT,

This will be my project log for my Ice world Tau. I have already progress somewhat with the project - so I will be posting update / progress pics very soon.
I am a project manager in real life - so please excuse the overly methodical approach :) - see personal challenges section.

For now I would like to detail the concepts and inspirations for the army. I will also document some personal challenges I have set for myself, and general challenges with the concepts. I hope you enjoy the progression of this log. It's been a blast just getting to this stage.

Quick background -
I've recently started playing 40k again, and dug up my old half and unpainted Tau models. What a surprise to see a Riptide in the new codex...and have a powerful army :)
I've made a commitment to myself to fully paint and finish this army.
I tend to be a perfectionist, so I will need to let some things slide during this project. Part of the reason for the unpainted army was that I wanted to blend everything..and would often restart an entire unit if something small bothered me.

This log will document my journey, and hopefully share some of my lessons learnt. Some will be obvious to experienced modellers and painters, some might be new.

Concept:
Army is to be based on ice world. This will complement regular opponent and usual game board well. (Space Wolves, so all Ice / Snow themed)
General colour scheme is to be glacier / ice camouflage and armour.
We plan on adding volcano eruptions to the game board - fire colours will be nice contrast to ice armour.
Heavily modified crisis suits