My First Tau

Post long term projects you have devised for your Tau or other hobby projects.
Tau-Noob
Shas

My First Tau

Post#1 » Jun 02 2016 02:07

Thought it was about time I introduced myself after lurking for a while...

I've been painting Tyranids for a number of years, and have a sizeable force, but the tyranocite model totally and completely broke me! I still haven't finished it 15 odd months after I started, and I can't see it ever being completed. I haven't really painted anything for over a year, but i recently got the itch, but still couldn't bear the thought of Tyranids, so I did something I have thought about a few times, and started a Tau army.

Of course I threw caution to the wind, and for my colour scheme test model I chose, not a fire warrior or other small unit, but the mighty Riptide. (I seem to be following a pattern, my first Tyranid was a Trygon :D)

I'm a painter not a player, so I just paint what I think looks cool. I have also bought a "start collecting Tau" box, and have finished the Fire Warriors and will take a photo soon. And will start on the Crisis suits this weekend.

ZainNL
Shas

Re: My First Tau

Post#2 » Jun 02 2016 02:17

So cool... *Notes down the metallic weathering*

GeorgeJetson
Shas

Post#3 » Jun 02 2016 10:47

ZainNL,

I like that scheme, normally I shy away from the brighter/deeper schemes, but purple and orange are complimentary and you really make it work there.

Are you doing the fire warriors and crisis suits in the same scheme? That would look rad. Can't wait to see!

Tau-Noob
Shas

Post#4 » Jan 03 2017 07:15

So, it's been very slow progress, but I have painted the Fire Warriors and Crisis Suits from the "Start Collecting" box painted up.

And I splashed out at the local games stores buy 1, get 1 half price boxing day sale on some big suits.

At the rate I have been going that should keep me busy for about a hundred years. I have started on the Ghostkeel, wish me luck ;)

Tau-Noob
Shas

Post#5 » Jan 15 2017 04:32