Project blog: Tau Superheavy Walker (Completed)

Post long term projects you have devised for your Tau or other hobby projects.
mangozac
Kor

Project blog: Tau Superheavy Walker (Completed)

Post#1 » Jan 19 2008 01:26

Hi guys,

OK this is my first project blog, implemented mainly so that I can ask questions as to the best way to go about things during the process. This is my first major scratchbuilding project so it's sure to have a lot of questions!

----

So after my first game of Apocalypse on Monday night I'm really excited to play more. The problem is that my Tau army isn't exactly "Apocalyptic" - even if I field every model I can only ring up just under 2000 pts (Monday's game had both Jas' and my own armies combined). I wanted to add something suitably legendary, not just more battlesuits or hammerheads (I am painting my last battlesuit right now and am really sick of them!).

At first I thought that the solution would be a Tigershark AX-10. It's a whole 750 points of super cool looking Tau heavy flyer. But then I got to see the rules for it and was quite disappointed (I've got another thread somewhere here that was discussing that a little while back). I don't want this thread to turn into a "talk Zac into buying a Tigershark" thread so lets just say that I'm off the idea.

Whilst the Apocalypse game was great fun, there was one distinct thing that I thought was missing. Titans. Sure, we had a couple of baneblades and plenty of tanks on the table, but there was no single awe-inspiring unit to attract all that rediculous amounts of firepower ;)

So I think to myself, "why not build a Tau titan". Now, I've read through my fair share of Tau titan debates and came up with the following solution: this won't be a Tau titan. It will be a Tau Superheavy Assault Walker. Basically take the broadside and scaling it up 100 times.

So can I ask that the fluff Nazis please refrain from making Tau titan legitimacy comments?

----