New to Tau and 40K - Help appreciated

Discuss and develop your army list amongst new players and veterans alike.
Zlatan
Shas

New to Tau and 40K - Help appreciated

Post#1 » Mar 29 2017 05:56

Hi everyone,

I'm a long-term fantasy (4th Ed - AoS) player who's thinking about getting more into 40k. I've always been attracted to the Tau aesthetic and fluff, and I want an army that other people in my area aren't using much - so I've decided to join the Greater Good. I have read the rules and played a few friendly maelstrom games with a small Space Wolf army before, so I understand the basics but I'm still a rookie and could use a few pointers.
As for the local meta, there's a good amount of players around who range from uber-fluffy friendly gamers to hardcore win-at-all-costs types. We play in store and it's not always possible to book a table, so usually this means turning up and playing whoever's around. The main armies I'll face are marines, eldar, astra militarum and mechanicum. There's also a few tyranid players about. So basically I need an all-comers list.
I like armies which look good on the table and use a variety of models. I also like using balanced lists that require tactics and synergy, rather than sledgehammering people by spamming the best stuff. That said, I'd also like to have a fighting chance of winning against some of the more competitive players.

I've just finished reading through the codex and I've put together a couple of lists at the 2 standard points values people play in-store - 850, and 1850. Generally the smaller list would be for friendly games, and the 1850 list would be for more serious competitive games. I'd like some help and advice. :P

So to summarize my goals:
- I want to use varied models. I like pretty much the whole Tau range so I don't need to use the models I've listed below, but I'd rather not spam the same unit type too much.