Asking for advice on purchases

Discuss and develop your army list amongst new players and veterans alike.
Prometheo
Shas'Saal

Asking for advice on purchases

Post#1 » Aug 09 2017 06:00

Hi everyone.

I'm sorry if this is a recurrent topic but I feel kind of lost right now. I recently started playing Tau and I was planning on getting some more minis for my army as soon as the new edition stabilized.

Previously I was playing a kinda classic Farsight Retaliation Cadre + Drone net army with loads of suits and marker drones. You can guess how well it is working now :D

So... I understand I should aim more for foot troop infantry and would like your input on what to focus.

Right now I have 2 start collecting boxes, a Commander, a Cadre Fireblade, a Riptide and a Broadside, assembled as follows.

· Commander with 4x Missile Pods conversion. He was a buffmander. I guess this can be easily turned into a QFC but I like the whole "shooting from the edge" thing.
· Cadre Fireblade with Markerlight.
· 2 Ethereals, one on hover.
· 6 Crisis suits, assembled as (2x Fusion Blaster), 2x (2x Plasma, Shield), 3x (2x Missile Pods, could go for a third)
· 20 Fire Caste Warriors including 3 Shas'Ui with markerlights and 2 turrets
· Riptide with Ion Accelerator and Fusion Blasters with shielded missile drones
· Broadside with HYMP and MPs with missile drones
· 21 Tactic drones, being 12 marker drones, 8 gun drones and 1 shield drone

I reckon I should go for Stealth suits and Pathfinders and probably change some Marker drones to gun drones. Certainly going for the previous suits-only approach is not getting me anywhere.

Any specific advice?

Antao
Shas'Saal

Re: Asking for advice on purchases

Post#2 » Aug 09 2017 06:20