First time Tau advice

Discuss and develop your army list amongst new players and veterans alike.
Surestrike
Shas

First time Tau advice

Post#1 » Aug 10 2017 09:32

Greetings

As the title suggests I'm new to Tau and modern 40k (I played 2nd Ed. way back when). I regularly attend a wargaming club and would like to put together a 1,000-2,000 (lets say 1,500) point force for some fun games.

At this stage the models I have are as follows (mostly still on the sprue awaiting magnets):
1 Pathfinder kit + extra recon drone, 2x metal Rail rifle pathfinders and 3 with carbines
1 XV25 Stealth Unit
1 Cadre Fireblade
1 Coalition Command
2x Start Collecting boxes.

My first question is regarding the XV8s and whether i'm best running them all as crisis units (either 2x3 or 1x6) or can/should I use 3 to count as commanders? The commander from the coalition I intend to build as Coldstar but will be magnetised.

I have assumed that I can use 3 suits to count as and put together a force, I'm a bit unsure on weapon purpose so have based loadouts on what I've read here on ATT trying to make an universal force. The majority of players at the club seem to play SM or CSM but there are a couple of long time players with multiple force options.

Total Points of Force 1510 pts

Battalion Detachment - 1024pts
HQ - 201pts
Cadre Fireblade with marker light and shield drone 50pts
Ethereal on drone with equalisers 51pts
Coldstar Commander with High output burst cannon, Missile pod Shield Generator and ATS 150pts

Troops 160pts
4x Strike Teams 1x shas'ui and 4x warriors with pulse rifles 40pts (each)

Fast Attack 184pts
2x Pathfinder Teams 1xShaus'ui and 4x Pathfinders with Pulse Carbine, Marker lights and Photon grenades 40pts each
1x Tactical Drones 4x Markerlight Drones and 8x Gun Drones 104pts

Elites 429pts
1 Crisis Suit unit 5x Fusion Blasters 3x Flamers 1x Drone Controller and 6x Gun Drones 311pts
1 Stealth Suit unit 3x Burst Cannon 1x ATS 1x Homing Beacon 118pts