2000 points competitive tournament list

Discuss and develop your army list amongst new players and veterans alike.
Quorgyle
Shas'Saal

2000 points competitive tournament list

Post#1 » Aug 25 2017 02:05

Hey everyone, first time I'm posting a list here, feel free to comment and give both positive and negative critics.
A short explanation first what's this about.
I've been collecting Tau for 2 months now, even thought I've been in the GW Fantasy/40k hobby for like 12-13 years. That means that I don't have a lot of options what to use in my lists, but still I think it's a decent ammount of models/units for these 2 months in the game.
The way I usually play games, and not just board games like 40k is being competitive. I like to follow the meta, use strong stuff and ignore the bad ones. In case of 40k, that can be a bit tought as the hobby is very expensive and considering that every place/tournament/gamegroup has it's own limitations and rules, powergaming won't always be an option.
In a few weeks I'm attending a 2000 points tournament and the following list is made for this exact tournament and it's rules.
Some of the important rules that dictated this list:
- list must be battleforged, no unbound lists, max 3 detachments, detachments cannot be duplicated, no understrenght units, no forgeworld
- chapter approved rules for matched play will be used (like the roll off for first turn where the person who finished setting up first gets just +1 instead of auto first turn)
- a bit of proxying is allowed...for example I can use Crisis Suits as Commanders, but if I do that, I can't use the Crisis models for both Commanders and Crisis, just one of those
- most up to date designer notes, faq, errata will be used that come out before September 2nd
- 5 matches will be played, missions are already decided with some changes/additions to the standard ones (I can post these as well if anyone is interested)