Help! New tau player's first army.

Discuss and develop your army list amongst new players and veterans alike.
Dren_Nas
Shas

Help! New tau player's first army.

Post#1 » Dec 28 2017 05:24

Hey all! I've been playing 40k for a few months now. I bought the Dark imperium box and built a nice little space marine army these past few months. I originally wanted the local game shop to carry battletech/mechwarrior stuff, but they went with 40k because of the new edition release. I discovered the tau after I was already invested in the space marines. Recently, a guy in our group over heard me saying I wanted to build a tau army next because I like big stompy robots. He offered to sell me his old collection for $450. The collection was as follows:

Cadre fireblade
    3 etherals
    3 stealth suits
    6 crisis suits
    4 broadsides
    Commander in crisis suit
    20 fire warrior/breachers
    37 drones
    All 3 peices of tau terrain
    2 Hammerheads
    2 riptides
    Ghost keel
    Storm surge
    A start collecting box which is 3 crisis suits and drones and etheral

I'm still floundering around, but after reviewing your community the past few days this is what I came up with for a 2000 point army. Any advice or suggestions would be most appreciated! (I'm proxying the pathfinders until the shop gets some in for me.)

++ Spearhead Detachment +1CP (T'au Empire) [43 PL, 775pts] ++

+ Heavy Support +

XV88 Broadside Battlesuits [10 PL, 189pts]: MV4 Shield Drone, MV7 Marker Drone
. Broadside Shas'vre: 2x Plasma rifle, Heavy rail rifle, Target lock

+ HQ +

Cadre Fireblade [3 PL, 60pts]: Markerlight, MV4 Shield Drone, MV7 Marker Drone

+ Fast Attack +

Pathfinder Team [5 PL, 74pts]: MV31 Pulse Accelerator Drone, MV33 Grav-inhibitor Drone, MV4 Shield Drone, MV7 Marker Drone
. 5x Pathfinder: 5x Markerlight

Pathfinder Team [5 PL, 74pts]: MV31 Pulse Accelerator Drone, MV33 Grav-inhibitor Drone, MV4 Shield Drone, MV7 Marker Drone
. 5x Pathfinder: 5x Markerlight