1500 Pts. vs DeathGuard CC welcome!

Discuss and develop your army list amongst new players and veterans alike.
Smeik
Shas

1500 Pts. vs DeathGuard CC welcome!

Post#1 » Jan 10 2018 06:48

Hello fellow ATT Members,

im relatively new to 40K and especially to Tau, but since November, when i bought my first Models cheaply from ebay I've read a lot and already had my first two Matches in 8th Edition (i joined a Local 40k fun Tournament-League)
My next enemy will be playing Deathguard, all i have heard about this Faction is that it's slow an resilient (disgusting :P)

the match will be 1500 Points on a 4x4 City-like Board (we've chosen this randomly... :-( )
After a lot of fiddling and refining I've come up with this:

TauEmpire: Outrider Detachment: 496 Pts.
2 HQ
Commander
+ 4 x Fusion blaster, 2 x MV4 Shield Drone

Ethereal, Hover drone

1 Elite
Firesight Marksman

3 Fast Attack
Tactical Drones
9 x MV1 Gun Drone, 1 x MV7 Marker Drone

Tactical Drones

Tactical Drones

TauEmpire: Vanguard Detachment - 1004 Pts.
2 HQ
Commander

Cadre Fireblade

3 Elite
XV25 Stealth Battlesuits, Homin beacon
+ Stealth Shas'vre, Burst cannon, 1 x Drone controller
+ Stealth Shas'ui, Burst cannon

XV8 Crisis Battlesuits
+ Crisis Shas'vre, 2 x Cyclic ion blaster, 1 x Plasma rifle
+ Crisis Shas'ui, 2 x Cyclic ion blaster, 1 x Plasma rifle
+ Crisis Shas'ui, 2 x Fusion blaster, Drone controller -> 8 x MV1 Gun Drone

XV8 Crisis Battlesuits
+ Crisis Shas'vre, 3 x Flamer
+ Crisis Shas'ui, 3 x Flamer
+ Crisis Shas'ui, 2 x Flamer, Drone controller -> 6 x MV1 Gun Drone

I've split the Army in 2 Deatchments (Vanguard and Outrider) which results in 5 CP's. I heavily considered a battalion Deatchment for more CP, but could not make enough room for the Troops as i wanted to field as much Dakka as possible.

The General Plan is to Set up the Drones in two or three Big Blops giving "cover" to Cadre and the Ethereal.