New to Tau, need help building army

Discuss and develop your army list amongst new players and veterans alike.
BothanJedi
Shas

New to Tau, need help building army

Post#1 » Jan 19 2018 11:30

Hello ATT,

I'm fairly new to the game and am enjoying building up my army. I played for the first time this weekend with my army and had a good time playing. I’ll admit, I’m slow at painting and modeling. I would like to start working towards a fairly competitive army, and with the codex still not out, I've been magnetizing many of my models (besides the generic soldiers such as fire warriors and pathfinders). I'm a bit limited on what I can purchase now, but I do have a gift card to Miniature mMarket where I could squeeze in a couple more minis. What I'm trying to figure out, is what units I should focus on getting next to make a formidable army.

The armies I would be playing against most right now are Space Wolves, Necrons, and Tyranids. The terrain and size of the table varies depending on where we play. Feel free to suggest different builds with my units since I do have them magnetized. My current list of available units are:

Stormsurge
    Ghostkeel
    Riptide
    2 Hammerheads (one being Longstrike)
    Commander
    Coldstar Commander
    Shadowsun
    Farsight
    Cadre Fireblade
    2 groups of Strike Team Fire Warriors
    2 groups of pathfinders
    6 crisis suits
    2 Ethereals
    1 Pirahana
    2 broadsides (missile setup - not magnetized)
    3 stealth battlesuits
    Multiple types of drones (magnetized)

What I'm trying to decide, is do I go with another ghostkeel and another unit of stealth suits, wait for the codex to come out to see if new units are released, or just sit tight for a while and continue working on what I have? I would also be open to other suggestions. I am limited to what's on Miniature Market at the moment.

Thanks for taking the time to read over this and offer any suggestions!

Cgreeves
Shas

Re: New to Tau, need help building army