Do Pulse weapons shoot bullets?

Discuss Tau background and even your own Cadre fiction here.
szeszej
Shas

Do Pulse weapons shoot bullets?

Post#1 » Oct 19 2017 01:46

My friend told me to make holes in the barrels of the burst cannons on my models because without them they look silly. I kinda agree with that, I did some drilling and they look much better. However, I'm wondering if I should subject my pulse carabines/pulse rifles to the same treatment. At first I thought that they are some kind of laser weapons so they shouldn't need a barrel in the traditional sense (the tip would be just some kind of a lense) but I'm no expert on the fluff side of the hobby (I have yet to read the 4 pages included in the Xenos 2 index :D ).

So, could anyone more versed in the fluff tell me if these weapons actually shoot some kind of projectiles? To be honest I'm wondering the same about plasma and fusion weapons. All Ion weapons seem to already have a hole in their barrels.

EDIT:

It seems I have posted this in the wrong section, could someone mightier than me move it to the Library?

Not a Problem, post relocated to the Library. - Kakapo

Panzer
Shas'Saal

Re: Do Pulse weapons shoot bullets?

Post#2 » Oct 19 2017 02:02

If I recall correctly the Pulse technology based weapons indeed shoot a "bullet" but before it leaves the barrel it gets vaporized and encased by an electric field.
That being said I also remember that the few descriptions of how Pulse weapon technology works aren't very coherent or even very detailed to begin with. It's probably best to imagine it as low key plasma.

TauMan
Shas'Ui
Shas'Ui

Post#3 » Oct 19 2017 03:06

szeszej