In the latest strike team tactica article, it mentions that Ethereal powers don't affect strike teams on the turn they disembark. Uh, I don't get it.
Initial condition (start of turn):
One or more strike/breacher teams are riding in Devilfish, one of which has an Ethereal in it. The transports aren't necessarily < 12" away from each other.
- At the beginning of the movement phase, the controlling player calls out Storm of Fire for the Ethereal.
- During the movement phase, all of the strike/breacher teams and the Ethereal disembark, such that all of the team members are now within 12" away from dear leader. The Ethereal naturally ends up joining (one of) the team(s).
- All of the strike/breacher team members can now unload 3x shots at 1/2 range in their shooting phase.
- On the next turn, the enemy declares an assault on a strike team which is now < 12" away from the Ethereal, but was > 12" away at the start of this example.
- The strike team returns fire, getting +1 shot at the enemy, who is < 15" away at the start of their charge
Right? What's the interaction that prevents this? I read the Invocation of the Elements rule and don't see any reason why this wouldn't work the way I outlined. The bubble of the effect surrounds the Ethereal, no matter how he moves, it doesn't look like it attaches to the units in range at the time he invoked it.