Tau Ghostkeel....is it a viable option>?

Discuss tactical and strategic development for 40K/Tau.
Rayzthedead
Shas'Saal

Tau Ghostkeel....is it a viable option>?

Post#1 » Jun 15 2017 11:45

I want to first off and state I havent played since 5th, and I am brand new to tau. That being said I started up a tau army and snagged 2 ghost keels as they are beyond sexy models. As I go through my first couple games I find I like my ghost keels but I am torn on load out. Currently I run 2 GK with Ion rakers and 2 burst.. I find them a solid infantry harraser but the ion falls short on tanks.. should I be playing them as fusion platforms? I would like to hear a more experienced input on them. Thanks in advanced.
Side note im running 2 rail head and a rail long strike, and 2 4x fusion commanders so i feel my anti tank load out is solid in my list...

Vector Strike
Shas'La
Shas'La

Re: Tau Ghostkeel....is it a viable option>?

Post#2 » Jun 15 2017 12:13

With Quad Fusion Commanders (henceforth, I shall name it 'QFC': the best fryer of the 41st millenium!), I don't see much use of all-fusion ghostkeels - albeit they can come under 9" of a unsuspecting vehicle/monster. CIR + BC + ATS seems like a nice all-round skirmisher, or even CIR + Flamer + ATS for really aggresive play against infantry

Rayzthedead
Shas'Saal

Post#3 » Jun 15 2017 12:43

I forgot to mention I equipped them with a EWO and TL, If im reading rules correctly he needs the TL so he can move and fire the heavy weapons without penalty. Also I used the EWO to protect my tanks from other DS units. is that a bad idea? or should i just run the ATS and TL?

Vector Strike
Shas'La
Shas'La

Post#4 » Jun 15 2017 12:48

Rayzthedead wrote:I forgot to mention I equipped them with a EWO and TL, If im reading rules correctly he needs the TL so he can move and fire the heavy weapons without penalty. Also I used the EWO to protect my tanks from other DS units. is that a bad idea? or should i just run the ATS and TL?