New player- Stuck on Guardian Drones

Discuss tactical and strategic development for 40K/Tau.
Orion7
Shas'Saal

New player- Stuck on Guardian Drones

Post#1 » Oct 29 2017 06:11

Hi, it's my first time playing 40k apart from a demo game maybe a decade ago and I only have a tiny army right now (start collecting box and a fire blade) and am trying to figure out what to equip them with. Most of them I'm happy with my choices, but I'm baffled by one part of the fire warriors.

What exactly do the guardian drones do that shield drones don't do better? Should I give my warriors a guardian?

(For reference the rest of my load out is strike team with rifles and a pistol, two crisis suits for slugging it out with armour (2x FB and shield generator) and one crisis suit with flamers to protect those against an infantry swarm, and one fire blade; plus a marker drone, shield drone and six gun drones)

Panzer
Shas'Saal

Re: New player- stuck on guardian drones

Post#2 » Oct 29 2017 06:17

Orion7 wrote:Hi, it's my first time playing 40k apart from a demo game maybe a decade ago and I only have a tiny army right now (start collecting box and a fire blade) and am trying to figure out what to equip them with. Most of them I'm happy with my choices, but I'm baffled by one part of the fire warriors.

What exactly do the guardian drones do that shield drones don't do better? Should I give my warriors a guardian?

(For reference the rest of my load out is strike team with rifles and a pistol, two crisis suits for slugging it out with armour (2x FB and shield generator) and one crisis suit with flamers to protect those against an infantry swarm, and one fire blade; plus a marker drone, shield drone and six gun drones)