Spin the Bottle

Discuss tactical and strategic development for 40K/Tau.
Callumibob
Shas

Spin the Bottle

Post#1 » Nov 16 2017 03:09

Evening all,

first time post here! so im fairly new to 40k, im in a group of people who started collecting at the start of 8th. 2 players who have experience with other tabletop mini games and 3 absolute noobs (myself included). so far ive played 3 games and won 1.

this weekend 4 of us are meeting up an playing a few 500pt games. here's the problem, we are going 1 on 1 against another player but its the roll of the dice what we're up against. i could be facing either tyranids (all teath and claws no guns) necrons (mostly warriors and a cryptek) or space wolves.

basically im looking for an all round list that can deal with any of these threats with minimal tweaking. i know im probably opening can of worms here. at my disposal i have:

1 get started kit with fire warriors built as strike teams
1 optimized pathfinder team with 3 magnetized models for special weapons
1 cadre fireblade.

any tips and tricks would be really appreciated.

for the greater good!

Panzer
Shas'Saal

Re: Spin the Bottle

Post#2 » Nov 16 2017 03:37

Okay first things first....don't expect to have an answer to everything in such low point games. You can try to build an allrounder list but there will be situations where you simply can't do much about it.
Imo in low point games it's better to build towards ones own strength instead of trying to be prepared for everything.

Things I deem strong in low point games without any additional support (only talking about things you've available):
- full Flamer Crisis with Shield Drones even if you can't drop within flamer range turn one. They are just incredibly durable and together with the advance move pretty fast (average movement of 11.5" per turn + 8" of the flamer = 19.5" threat range)
- Pathfinder with Rail Rifles
- Gun Drones (as always lol)

Unfortunately the Crisis unit is quite expensive