Aun’Shi in 8th Ed

Discuss tactical and strategic development for 40K/Tau.
stayhandsome
Shas'Saal

Aun’Shi in 8th Ed

Post#1 » Dec 03 2017 07:26

So full disclosure, I’m new to the game and have a lot of learning to do. However after deciding that Tau will be my army of choice and doing some tactical sleuthing, I keep coming back to the badass space Monk, Aun’Shi. Dude is just too cool. In an army where even the drones have shields, he goes out with nothing but a loin cloth and a double-bladed staff.

Am I a fool for wanting to include him in my list? Is there any way to use him without it being a joke?

Will GW ever give him the plastic model and data sheet that he deserves? ;)

Befiros
Shas

Re: Aun’Shi in 8th Ed

Post#2 » Dec 03 2017 08:21

Well i'm not a competitive player or the one who goes all for point efficiency but is not bad in 8thº edition, in friendly games i use him with kroot, he can give them fnp and good leadership and they give him bodies to hide behind, is not bad in combat (by tau standards he is a god) with st5 -2ap so if you like him go ahead and play him at least is funny to throw a crazy ethereal and carnivores to the enemy.

In one of my games against marines with like 50 kroot, dogs and shapers he did great, killed some marines and help my kroot to stay in the field (20 kroot killed a dreadnought in one round of shooting and combat :D when that metal box assaulted them)

Sorry if my english is bad, is not my mother tonge.

FederationUnitedNews
Shas

Post#3 » Dec 04 2017 01:55

If you compare Aun'Shi(68 pts) to a stock ethereal(45 pts), you'll see that he's actually a competitive option.

For 23 points you get a 4+ invulnerable save, and the option to buff up his attack or defense in melee. Basically he's decent in any list where you would bring an ethereal anyway.

Studioworks
Shas'Saal

Post#4 » Dec 04 2017 03:55