Tau FAQ (official first draft)

A review of Rules of Engagement from earlier encounters.
User avatar
thezanji
Shas'La
Shas'La
Posts: 68

Re: Tau FAQ (offial first draft)

Post#37 » Aug 03 2016 12:04

Talking about The Eight, anyone understand the logic behind their new rule? since Ob'lotai has no deep strike, this means they must start the game on the table? does farsight's Warlord traits becomes useless? am I missing something?

User avatar
Macknight
Shas'La
Shas'La
Posts: 302

Re: Tau FAQ (offial first draft)

Post#38 » Aug 03 2016 01:17

thezanji wrote:Talking about The Eight, anyone understand the logic behind their new rule? since Ob'lotai has no deep strike, this means they must start the game on the table? does farsight's Warlord traits becomes useless? am I missing something?


I believe it also said they are all IC, they can start the game to form units or not, simply leave the broadside on the table.
For the greater good!

User avatar
thezanji
Shas'La
Shas'La
Posts: 68

Re: Tau FAQ (offial first draft)

Post#39 » Aug 03 2016 03:41

Macknight wrote:
thezanji wrote:Talking about The Eight, anyone understand the logic behind their new rule? since Ob'lotai has no deep strike, this means they must start the game on the table? does farsight's Warlord traits becomes useless? am I missing something?


I believe it also said they are all IC, they can start the game to form units or not, simply leave the broadside on the table.


yes, but I meant, the new rule that turns them into a single unit...

Spectralblade
Shas
Posts: 19

Re: Tau FAQ (offial first draft)

Post#40 » Aug 03 2016 04:30

If you deploy them as a unit, they can't Deep Strike because Ob'lotai doesn't have the rule (BRB specifically states all models in the unit need to have the rule for the unit to Deep Strike), and the FAQ thing that gives them the 'start as a unit' thing states they all lose IC if they do. So yes, Farsight's Warlord Trait would be useless in that situation.

I don't really understand why they gave us that rule either. Even the formation supports running them as ICs with their 24'' Supporting Fire benefit, which is completely negated by running them as a unit since they'd need to maintain coherency as I understand it. Plus there's their wide assortment of weapons, where you'd want Ob'lotai way back sniping, whereas Farsight, Torchstar and people want to get stuck in. For narrative games maybe? Seems really strange and unnecessary.

User avatar
Macknight
Shas'La
Shas'La
Posts: 302

Re: Tau FAQ (offial first draft)

Post#41 » Aug 03 2016 04:57

There is no rule you have to buy all 8 of the Eight, you pick which ones you want, then form a unit or not. You can also start the game having them all separate IC, then have them join together to a unit of (crisis) during the game.

If you decide to buy all 8 and have them in one unit at the start of the game, then some of the tactical approaches are limited as said above.
For the greater good!

Spectralblade
Shas
Posts: 19

Re: Tau FAQ (offial first draft)

Post#42 » Aug 03 2016 05:25

The problem with not buying all of them is there's a Q/A in the FAQ which basically suggests the formation supersedes all previous rules regarding the Eight, including the one which let you take them individually:

Q: In the 2013's The Farsight Enclaves, any member of The Eight could be taken as a HQ choice that does not use a Force Organisation Slot as long as Commander Farsight was your commander. Is this still true, or are the members of The Eight only available in the Formation now?

A: The intent of that rule was to allow Farsight to be accompanied by The Eight, regardless of the limits of the Force Organisation Chart. The Eight Formation does this, so The Eight as presented in that Formation can only be fielded as part of that Formation.


That suggests to me that The Eight are now essentially an all or nothing package: you either get the whole formation or you get none of The Eight (except Farsight if taken by himself).

User avatar
Vector Strike
Shas'La
Shas'La
Posts: 955

Re: Tau FAQ (offial first draft)

Post#43 » Aug 03 2016 07:11

The rules say you have to get all of them, or only farsight via command detachment.

you don't have to field them all together, though.

Spectralblade
Shas
Posts: 19

Re: Tau FAQ (offial first draft)

Post#44 » Aug 03 2016 08:01

That's the weird thing. In the updated FE Codex that includes the stuff from Mont'ka, they don't list the Eight individually like in the original release, they're all listed as part of the Formation. And the FAQ wording is 'when you deploy the Eight, you can deploy them as a single unit' and they lose IC if you do that. So as far as I'm understanding the FAQ, you have to take all eight of them and if you choose to deploy them as a unit, you have to deploy all eight of them in that unit.

Is there some benefit to it I'm just not understanding? All I can think of is shenanigans with Torchstar's MSSS and Shavastos' Puretide Engram, and maybe Look Out Sir if they still count as characters.

jeffersonian000
Shas
Posts: 36

Re: Tau FAQ (offial first draft)

Post#45 » Aug 04 2016 08:00

One point people miss is that other than Farsight, each of the Eight are legal builds with the game (even O'vasa, now that FSE Riptides can take ECP). So yes, you can take any if the Eight on their own in your army, sans special rules for being an Eight.

SJ

User avatar
Vres'ka
Shas'Saal
Posts: 53

Re: Tau FAQ (offial first draft)

Post#46 » Aug 16 2016 03:46

The big advantage of the Unit is having a Riptide with FNP in the frontline taking the hits for the rest of the Formation.
It is not possible to make Ob'lotai otherwise in a unit of non-broadside.

It has flaws, but you get a mixed unit that's really hard to kill off.

I think I'll test it soon, in fact.
We alone are to guard stars that used to be our homes.

fraction64
Shas'Saal
Posts: 195

Re: Tau FAQ (official first draft)

Post#47 » Aug 17 2016 06:11

So Necron FAQ came out and they brought up the relic answer again but with a key difference in wording.
A model may only have one relic (or equivalent ).

Covers more than just the word relic plus there's no longer any exemption listed.

User avatar
Panzer
Shas'Saal
Posts: 3548

Re: Tau FAQ (official first draft)

Post#48 » Aug 18 2016 08:32

Yeah I read that as well and it bothers me.
As long as it's just in the Necron FAQ it's fine but if it's a sign that we get something like that added as well to our FAQ...well lets just say it wouldn't make much sense considering the wording of a few things in our Codex.

fraction64
Shas'Saal
Posts: 195

Re: Tau FAQ (official first draft)

Post#49 » Aug 18 2016 10:20

It is quite possible we are just in a 6th edition mindset like with moving through ruin walls. Nothing explicitly allows multiple Sig systems in the codex. IE nothing says "a model may have multiple signature systems"
In 6th it just wasn't a question. Then all the 7th ed books started coming out and they all started limiting their unique items to one per model.
Our codex was a copy paste affair so it is possible it's their intention to limit us just like all the others. Have to wait and see when the updated versions come out. If the brb FAQ ends up worded like this there won't be any question of their intent.

User avatar
Panzer
Shas'Saal
Posts: 3548

Re: Tau FAQ (official first draft)

Post#50 » Aug 18 2016 12:36

fraction64 wrote:It is quite possible we are just in a 6th edition mindset like with moving through ruin walls. Nothing explicitly allows multiple Sig systems in the codex. IE nothing says "a model may have multiple signature systems"
In 6th it just wasn't a question. Then all the 7th ed books started coming out and they all started limiting their unique items to one per model.
Our codex was a copy paste affair so it is possible it's their intention to limit us just like all the others. Have to wait and see when the updated versions come out. If the brb FAQ ends up worded like this there won't be any question of their intent.

To be fair it isn't exactly a 7th edition codex thing, it's a FAQ thing.
Also nothing explicitly states we can take more than one Signature System, however everywhere the Signature Systems are mentiond in plural, the Crsisi entry says "...may take up to three items from the Ranged Weapons, Signature Systems and/or Support Systems list." and there are Signature Systems that explicitly mention that they do work together with another.

It's true that our current codex is mostly a copy&paste from the old one and there are indeed rumours that we will get a 'true' new codex eventually soon but as it is right now the Codex is written in a way and with the mindset to be able to take multiple Signature Systems on the same model.

User avatar
Vector Strike
Shas'La
Shas'La
Posts: 955

Re: Tau FAQ (official first draft)

Post#51 » Aug 18 2016 05:05

fraction64 wrote:It is quite possible we are just in a 6th edition mindset like with moving through ruin walls. Nothing explicitly allows multiple Sig systems in the codex. IE nothing says "a model may have multiple signature systems"
In 6th it just wasn't a question. Then all the 7th ed books started coming out and they all started limiting their unique items to one per model.
Our codex was a copy paste affair so it is possible it's their intention to limit us just like all the others. Have to wait and see when the updated versions come out. If the brb FAQ ends up worded like this there won't be any question of their intent.


Image

We can buy more than 1 SigSys per model.

Ricordis
Shas'La
Shas'La
Posts: 340

Re: Tau FAQ (official first draft)

Post#52 » Aug 18 2016 08:54

The curse of knowledge.
I skipped some editions and returned with the 7th.
I never read the 6th edition and so the 7th was pretty clear to me. Ie the amount of signature systems was never worth a discussion.

At my local gamestore the "veterans" I asked earlier for advices just talked ...nonsense...
Their minds were all stuck in 6th edition.

People should start reading the codex as a new ruleset and not as update for the old one.

AlmostMercury
Shas
Posts: 84

Re: Tau FAQ (official first draft)

Post#53 » Aug 18 2016 10:15

I was meaning to check that. Battlescribe only lets the Crisis Bodyguards take 3 systems period, but that image clearly shows it as 3 systems from the ranged and support lists, plus as many sig systems as you want.

fraction64 wrote:It is quite possible we are just in a 6th edition mindset like with moving through ruin walls.


And, I'm sorry but I don't understand. At least for 6th and 7th, walls have been an abstraction unless you identify them as impassable terrain. Nothing needs to be impassable, so I'm confused about where you're going with that.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but you can just move through terrain using the 7th ed ruleset.

User avatar
Panzer
Shas'Saal
Posts: 3548

Re: Tau FAQ (official first draft)

Post#54 » Aug 18 2016 10:46

AlmostMercury wrote:I was meaning to check that. Battlescribe only lets the Crisis Bodyguards take 3 systems period, but that image clearly shows it as 3 systems from the ranged and support lists, plus as many sig systems as you want.

fraction64 wrote:It is quite possible we are just in a 6th edition mindset like with moving through ruin walls.


And, I'm sorry but I don't understand. At least for 6th and 7th, walls have been an abstraction unless you identify them as impassable terrain. Nothing needs to be impassable, so I'm confused about where you're going with that.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but you can just move through terrain using the 7th ed ruleset.


Since the FAQ ruin walls are impassable terrain.

Return to “Archival Datacore”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests