Mirth wrote:I agree with Ell'ran- logically it would seem that if the unit were not using any special deployment method, it could be joined by an IC as desired.
Also, it would seem to me that a unit that could deploy via Deep Strike but also had infiltrate, such as Stealth Suits, that chose to deploy via Deep Strike could be joined by a Deep Strike capable IC (Crisis Commander, etc), and logically the reverse would be true (Shadowsun Deep Striking with Crisis Suits), however the FAQ doesn't seem to be allowing of it.
However, I would contend that she could join a unit deploying via Deep Strike, just like a Crisis Commander could join a unit of Stealth Suits that deploying via Deep Strike because of a couple of things.
1. They are all Jetpack models, and as such are conferred deployment rules by virtue of being Jetpack models (Deep Strike).
2. Models with Infiltrate do not HAVE to deploy via infiltrate. They CAN deploy via infiltrate, but in a circumstance where they are not infiltrating, but rather deploying via either A) normal deployment, or B) a special deployment rules (Deep Strike) then as long as all the models in the squad and any attached ICs share the special rule as per normal rules, they should be able to deploy in the way normally permitted for said special rule.
In short, Farsight can Deep Strike or start on the table with a unit of Stealth Suits, and Shadowsun can Deep Strike or start on the table with a unit of Crisis Suits, in my opinion.
ArttesThePerishable wrote:Alright so on technicality here, this is my thoughts:
"An Independent Character without the Infiltrate special rule cannot join a unit of Infiltrators during deployment, and vice versa"
Notice the use of the wording "Unit of infiltrators". That wording indicates that it is referring to a unit that is infiltrating, not that it is referring to a unit with the Infiltrator special rule. This is further clarified by them referring to the IC as not having the "Infiltrate special rule", instead of stating "a non Infiltrator IC".
Therefor a unit with the special rule of Infiltrator is not an infiltrating unit if it is not using infiltrate via my analysis.
To add to that we have the FAQ:
A: An Independent Character without the Infiltrate special rule cannot join a unit of Infiltrators during deployment, whether they are Infiltrating, Deep Striking or Outflanking. They are free to join units as they wish after deployment"
Again, specifically using the two different phrases which separate the two meanings. And furthermore, makes no mention of standard deployment because, due to the language of the question, standard deployment is not asked about. Instead infiltrating deployment and deployment affected by infiltrating deployment is asked about.
My final thoughts on the matter is that none of these Errata and FAQ do anything to say that you cannot join an "IC without the infiltrator special rule to a unit with the infiltrator special rule that is deploying normally". Therefor the only two options for interpretation that I can fathom are either:
1) It is allowed as there is nothing stating that it is banned. or,
2) Because there is no information on the scenario at hand then it is a missing rule that will have to be filled in via the player's local meta.
ArttesThePerishable wrote:So darn... that leaves me frustrated at the FAQ as they really should have just expanded their list of what isn't permitted by that one item instead of normal deployment being the only thing on the list of forbidden deployment options that was not mentioned. Here I was trying to defend the Errata and FAQ competency haha
Panzer wrote:I disagree with you there, ArttesThePerishable.
Like you I see that it's important to know what they mean with 'Infiltrator' but unlike you I see nothing that indicates they aren't Infiltrators anymore if they don't use that special rule.
I could argue the same way and say they didn't use 'can't join an infiltrating unit' but instead 'Infiltrator' so they obviously mean any unit with the Infiltrator USR and not just ones that actually infiltrate. See what I did there?
The wording is not very clear but I think it's better to be on the safe side and assume that Infiltrators are all units with the Infiltrator special rule than assuming something that isn't written anywhere and is only based on them not using 'non Infiltrator IC' at one point in the Errata.
nic wrote:@ArttesThePerishable - I am still slightly holding out hope that someone can see the thing that perhaps I missed but I have to admit I think the way I was playing has been ruled to be incorrect by GW.
It is only slightly embarrassing because I used that interpretation heavily in a tournament win where I edged my son into 2nd place.
Panzer wrote:Imo they just used 'Infiltrator' because it's the easiest way to name a unit with the Infiltrate USR. By using a single word that is.
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests