How to beat Carnifex and Deathleaper

Discuss both Auxiliary, Allied and Aliens tactics
SniperTau
Shas'La

How to beat Carnifex and Deathleaper

Post#1 » Jun 01 2016 05:16

Hi, this is my first proper post. I am relatively new to the game, and do not know the best tactics for beating Carnifex and Deathleaper tyranids. I have a game coming up where my friend and I are having a game and I do not know what to do. Please help! :::( I have the starter set plus some pathfinders so not many points avaliable.
any help would be good.

SniperTau
'Snipers, ready, ready.....'

SomeTauGuy
Shas'Ui

Re: How to beat Carnifex and Deathleaper

Post#2 » Jun 01 2016 06:19

Use your pathfinders to marker light up Deathleaper. You want at least two on him for ignores cover then get your Firewarriors to shoot him to bits. Their weapons will ignore his armor save and have a higher strength than his toughness.

Equip your crisis suits with Plasma Rifles (or maybe Fusion) and send them after the Carnifex. If your pathfinder squad has Rail Rifles in it they can help too. Shoot with the pathfinders first to get some marker lights on the Carnifex and let the Crisis suits use them for increase to hit.

Edit: I'm assuming Deathleaper is lurking in cover near your troops and that the Carnifex is barreling across the table towards you. Tailor your marker light use to what is needed for ignores cover or more to hit.

SniperTau
Shas'La

Post#3 » Jun 01 2016 06:28

Thanks! I have a feeling he might try bring his tyranid drop pod thing too, so will come prepared with a lot of firepower.
thinking double fusion on 1-2 crisis and a twin-link plasma and burst cannon on a shas'vre.
Thanks for your quick reply. He also has swarms of genestealers too...

(Edit: added info on genestealers)

Panzer
Shas'La

Post#4 » Jun 01 2016 10:53