Oberon wrote:If I remember correctly, using a psychic power essentially counts as firing an assault weapon so he'd be free to assault the target afterwards (no rulebook/codex to hand so please correct me if I'm wrong).
If you can spare even one railgun then thats a juicy instant-kill, and I usually run 6 Broadsides and an Ionhead in 2,000 points, so its an example of where a target lock on a 3 man broadside team can really pay off.
Piranhas are also a good choice for this, as melta is of course wasted on the monolith, though no instant death goodness.
For a specific counter, try keeping your infantry (as opposed to veichles) together 'til he's dead, and take a shas'o with a command and control node for a counter-leadership bubble.
lostinnm wrote:Just to clear a couple things up,
The nightmare shroud isn't a Psychic power. Necrons have no psychic powers. It is a piece of wargear may be used instead of shooting, so since it doesn't shoot at anything and doesn't have a target, I'd say that he can't assault since he used a shooting attack with no target.
Necron Lords don't have invulnerable saves unless they buy one, but this does count towards their wargear point limit.
eiglepulper wrote:The NS has no statline for range, strength, AP or weapon type. Its description designates it as a 'weapon' which has an area effect. If it is used, it precludes the user from firing any ranged weapon (Staff of Light). It is not categorised as any specific weapon type, nor is there any mention in its explanatory notes in the Codex or in the Necron FAQ to say that the Lord cannot assault after using it.
Necron Codex wrote:The Nightmare Shroud may be activated in the shooting phase instead of firing a weapon.
gr1m_dan wrote:i.e get the FW squads in Vehicles - no way a LD test can be taken then surely?)
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest